What Are You? A Hero or Zero?

in #life6 years ago

HERO / ZERO



Image source

What are you? What do you want your kid to look at you as? Somehow I wonder if these questions ever cross your mind. God gave us 24 hours every day. You lose the 24 hours yesterday but God still gives you a new set of 24 hours today. That's 1440 minutes a day. You were young. You've made bad decisions. Who doesn't? I know I've made many. But are you going to make it even within those 1440 minutes of your life that day? I know. We did it to make ourselves feel good. Are you going to keep adding the mistakes by hours now that it felt really good? Are you going to stay addicted to feeling good for just an hour or are you willing to admit the mistakes, feel bad for an hour and feel good for the rest of your life?

Image source

I was having coffee with my best friend last night at one of the Mamak's in Cybercity, when she asked me how I was doing lately. I told her despite missing my dad so much, I'm actually doing pretty good. She comforted me with nice words. Then a question pops into my mind. For the 16 years long of our friendship, I knew that she was raised by her single mom. I never dare to ask her all these years of what happened to her dad. I mustered bravery and asked her last night. She just smiled at me and told me the story from beginning to end. What really caught my attention was that she was only 9 years old then when her dad was just returning home from taking courses outstation. Her dad put down his bag and gave her daughter a hug. Then her dad told her that he's going out to pick up mom. So they said their goodbyes and that was their last moment. Her mom returned that night very late, with teary eyes, telling them that their father has died.

Image source

You see.. Life is unpredictable. No calendar marks your death. These 24 hours we are having every day is so precious. Take an hour out of it to put down the greed of feeling good and face the consequences of your wrongdoings. Amend your mistakes. What do you want to be remembered as after you're no longer living in this world? You want to be honored as a hero or forgotten zero? Come on! Be the father or the mother that your children would be proud of. Be the hero!

Sort:  

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77