Come with me to visit a tourist attraction called Aussie World at the Sunshine Coast.....

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Let me show you a very interesting and somewhat intriguing place called Aussie World situated at the Sunshine Coast on the Bruce Highway. It is impressive and currently in a state of change, this is what I am seeing these days. Can't miss it, stopping is the challenge.

For more years than I can remember I looked at the pub called the Ettamogah Pub as we drove up and down the highway. My little explore on wikipedia tells me that it is a family business and has been operating since 1989. It has a very popular theme park behind the pub that has 22 rides and attractions. Part of me has wanted to check it out for a long time because I would always see numerous cars and motor bikes in the carpark. I wondered what drew people here.

This is the Ettamogah Pub and I am a little regretful that I did not venture in for a look long a go. I found the photo on commons.wikimedia.org</center

Suddenly a couple of years ago the big Ettamogah Pub sign was removed and just became known as Aussie World. Last year the face of the pub started changing transforming it from a small old quaint Australian building into one massive complex that towers over the highway.

Having visitors was the incentive I needed to visit Aussie World. It is time! They were just as curious as me so we set off for a lunch adventure.

Here is a side view of the hotel.

Positioned down below the hotel are oldish style wooden shops that have a variety of goods that might pique the interest of visitors. There is a lolly and ice-cream shop, a clothes and variety gift store, A crystal, spiritual book/CD shop, Subway and so on that only took us about 15 minutes to walk in and poke around.

The hotel still had work in progress so inside was smelling of glue and paint with some areas cordoned off. Fair enough we thought, one must have some understanding and patience for creating an Australian icon. What was finished was more than impressive, for example the bathrooms resembled the iconic beach huts found in Sydney and Melbourne. How cute and and how clever. Check it out.

All drinks could be bought at the Bar which was a big wooden design with a lot of character. A cool drink was very welcomed with our beef burgers for lunch.

Even though the hotel building was in the last stages of being completed the excursion proved to be most pleasant. Behind the hotel is a Carnival full of different rides. Entry costs $40 each so I decided that maybe this little bit of fun can be for another day. So no photos of this part of Aussie World.

Once the work on the Aussie World pub is finished the function room on the second floor will be able to hold 300 people. So big enough for special celebrations. We were also told by the waitress that the Aussie World is to be renamed. We will keep watching that space!

Will I go back to this touristy set-up? Yes I think I would, it is a fun place to take visitors along for lunch and a drink.


Cheers



Sort:  

ha cheapskate! lol. Howdy angiemitchell, I don't blame you for not wanting to spend $40 on that place! But maybe next time. It would make a good post!

Haha, janton, if I had bought a ticket I would have had to go all the rides, lol. Maybe photos and another post another day.

it will be a good one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80