I feel bad when I hesitate to accept a call from someone........

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Now I am a talker, I like engaging in conversations over coffee or have a leisurely chat on the iPhone during the day at home. Yes, I am highly social and enjoy the company of others. But then there is Reg!

He is a a really nice friendly and pleasant man. But, there is one big issue, he talks non-stop, he dominates a conversation, he talks all night or he talks for an extra long time. I feel stuck!

Reg overtalks! He is an over talker! Reg is a friend of a family member. Yes, we inherited him!

I have a little feeling of guilt today. He rang yesterday afternoon when I was wee bit busy. My thinking was, It is Reg, do I have time to talk? Maybe there is a problem, he hasn't rang for ages, maybe he is asking about ..... Did I answer the call? Yes I did, it was the polite thing to do and found out that Reg was ringing to say hello and checking on how we were going. "It has been months since talking," says Reg.

And so it went for a while.

I have given this situation some thought and come up with some reasonable and hopefully polite options that don't hurt Reg's feelings or fill me with guilt.

  • I could say, Oh Reg, so nice to hear from you but I am just about to .......... , I would love to chat but only have 15 minutes.
  • Not accept the call and send a text later, sorry to miss your call.
  • Ask my husband to give Reg a call.

Or should I just ask him upfront, "Anything up Reg, any reason for calling?" Is that too rude?


Cheers


Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

As for me, it's almost never a good time to take the phone, I'm usually quite busy - working, playing with the kids, helping the kids with things, visiting the loo, running to catch some metro (and I do think it's rather rude to talk in the phone while being on the metro), in the middle of some gluing or painting project on the boat - hence I hate it when people aren't quick on the phone. I don't think it's rude at all to say "sorry, but I'm very busy at the moment", or "sorry, but I can't talk right now".

It seems like my wife has another opinion on that, if her friend calls her, I know I've "lost" her for at least half an hour.

There is a telecom here with the name "TalkMore", I wish we had one with the name "TalkLess". :-)

howdy angiemitchell! I wouldn't answer and then text him later and apologize for missing his call.

Good point janton, thank you.

I have similar one friend. However, the flower photo is nice.

Hi dindar, geraniums are so pretty aren't they?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81