I have become a Star Trek fan ..... very unexpected

in #life5 years ago (edited)

*"You are watching Star Trek? The TV series; The Next Generation and Voyager are so old! Really mum? I am loving the stories and am happy to come out of the Star Trek closet to openly say that I am a fan.

My family has have never been Star Trek followers and to tell you the truth I have never bothered to give the shows a chance. That is until last year. I remember that it was a really wet afternoon, no walking or riding, only TV. By chance i clicked onto Star Trek; The Next Generation and that was it. I liked it! I then joined Voyager travelling for years in the D quadrant. I liked the characters, the storylines and the whole concept of exploring the last frontier and I will be watching for a while given that Star Trek is on Netflix.

It is the moral and ethical issues, the right and wrong dilemmas, the after-life themes, spirituality discussions and the advanced technology that keeps me watching. I read that Gene Roddenberry used these shows to reflect the issues of humanity that cropped up in each decade. He comes across as a clever creator and writer who also produced these shows.

To me they are still very relevant and believable..... except for the original TV series with Captain Kirk, that is a bit too old and staged for me.

Love and blessings.


Cheers


(sourced Wikipedia)

Sort:  

haha! howdy angiemitchell! I love the Start Trek franchise too! you have good taste in shows!

Two great minds think a like janton, haha.

My parents used to watch it because t was something interesting to watch. I'd watch it with them sometimes but never got into it. And still failing to get into it despite other people telling me how amazing it is XD

Maybe it is being ready to like Star Trek, it took me a very long time. Then wham....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29