A Brother's Gift

in #life5 years ago

3dmOVCchFDc.jpg

Yesterday was my brother’s birthday, and I wish I could have celebrated it with him. He is the oldest sibling, and I’ve always looked up to him and admired him so much. He has always been there for me – for all of us. As the oldest, he often got the job of taking care of the rest of us, especially us girls. One Christmas when money was very tight, he made gifts for each of us. He spent a lot of time making sure we had more than one gift under the tree, and making some very happy memories for us. I hope seeing our genuine joy meant as much to him as his gift did to us.

My friends all had crushes on him, and we must have driven him nuts, but he was always kind. On the long rides to town, I often watched him and my older sister tease each other in such a way that I learned a lot about family ties and loyal. It was never harsh or spiteful, just light-hearted and fun. As I got older and started dating, he ran interference and made sure I didn’t go out with guys whose character didn’t meet his standards. What a blessing!

One time he probably saved my life. We were out near the water when a storm came up. We had crossed the creek earlier in ankle deep water, but now the water was waist deep (or so we thought). He took off his boots and watch and held them up high as we started across the water. When we got out to the middle, it was several inches deeper with a very strong current, and I slipped and started under. He grabbed me and was able to get us both to the other side, but his boots and watch were soaked. He laughed and teased me about his wet boots and ruined watch, but never got upset.

As I thanked God for my wonderful brother and amazing family, I thought of Deuteronomy 8:12-16 where we are reminded of our many blessings, but also challenged to remember The One who gives them to us. Thank you, Lord, that ‘every good gift and every perfect gift is from you!’ (James 1:17)

Today’s smile: Honest criticism is hard to take, particularly from a relative, a friend, an acquaintance, or a stranger.

rUX2ghts3YI.jpg

Sort:  

actually we pay for allaz 0.5 steem and we barely have 0.1 steem from the upotes so it was a wrong choice for me and you @allaz

Thank you for using Resteem & Voting Bot @allaz Your post will be min. 10+ resteemed with over 13000+ followers & min. 25+ Upvote Different account (5000+ Steem Power).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09