My Name is Bunsboy 3

in #life6 years ago

.....continuation

Everyday I'm back from school just like today, I have to hit the streets as soon as I find the strength 'cause there's my fees to be paid and books to buy and a stomach to fill and poverty to kill.

images (11).jpeg

Image source

For this you gave me the name BunsBoy, even though you know it's demeaning enough you wouldn't love to be called that yourself. I run aimlessly until I can find you whenever I hear "BunsBoy" 'cause experience has taught me you could get impatient enough to not buy my buns if I delay. That's not all you've done to me. Do you remember when you paid #50 for a bun that went for #100 and pushed me away seated on your car seat 'cause 'things were hard' for you? No,you don't remember. But you should remember making me have to walk distances to find your #10 change 'cause your life depended on it, right? And how many of my buns you stole and ate as I sought your change 'cause you felt the worms in your intestines were eating you up? You bullied me and got my money just the other night, remember? Maybe you have memory problems like I do in school, but I won't forget how you tagged me a little wizard after eating #10 buns 'cause my head had ringworms on it, and the hair on it uncombed, and my clothes dirty and worn out.

images (12).jpeg

Image source

But there's something you and I would never forget, it's that you substituted 'Mfon' for 'Bunsboy' and gave me a new name I get to be called more than my real name. Each calling of the name used to rip my hurting heart into tiny painful pieces until I accepted the name was mine, and I was different from the other kids. I don't mind you call me BunsBoy anymore, but sometimes I mind that you don't leave me with your change so I could water my dry throat. I don't blame you for not doing so anyway, who would leave his change with a young wizard? I walk the streets often hoping some big man in some big car would help me out, it's just my buns that attracts them to me if it even does I find out. I'm tired of pointing your wrongs; I just wish you could show me some mercy as I step out today. I am hungry and frail and weak as I lift the bucket of buns on my head wondering where the first "BunsBoy" would come from. It's funny that I may never get a new name, until I'm playing a new game.

images (13).jpeg

Image source

Mama is in the market waiting to hug me when back, I am now out in the scorching sun which makes my back burn walking the streets waiting for your call; be nice to me please, I am dying. Sometimes I'm in a trance as I walk the streets, Papa calls out at me faintly but I cannot see or get to him, but I get the tears and end up crying. Sometimes I walk home soaked by the rain that cannot wash my problems away. Other times like now, I march on like an ant with a burden bigger than itself on its head hoping my name would change.


"BunsBoy..." I hear you call.
I'm running your way 'cause that's the name you taught me is mine.
Be nice to me until I get a new name please. For now, my name is BunsBoy and this is my story.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Wow, this story is really touching, i almost cried halfway, lol. I had to rush to read the previous ones. Do you mind if i send you a message on discord or would you prefer telegram.

Keep steeming,
@soorefunmi

Lol... Anywhere you choose is fine.

You are a talented writer I must say, this one touch me so much.

😍😍😍😍

Congratulations @annieben! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @annieben! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @annieben! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30