Homemade "Puffin' Rocks" | Never judge a book by its cover!

in #life5 years ago

20190208_173414.jpg

Divider3.png

Yesterday I wanted to prepare something with puff pastry

I've always loved puff pastry, but it has been hard to find the exact same puff pastry we had in Holland. I've had some advice a few months ago, and I thought that I'd bought the right puff pastry, but that was a big failure.. Too thin and the snacks I made didn't come out as planned. A few weeks ago I found puff pastry at the lidl while doing our weekly grocery shopping there. I assumed the pastry only looked like one big hump of pastry, and opening it would show me leaves of pastry with paper in between (the Dutchies know what I'm talking about lol), but it didn't.

Divider3.png

Puff pastry snacks with chicken filling

Even though the puff pastry wasn't what I expected it to be, I decided to defrost it, and see what happens. Let's first talk ingredients for those that want to make something similar:

  • puff pastry
  • a single chicken filet
  • parsley
  • 1 package of cheese with herbs (the creamy one)
  • garlic and paprika powder (as much as you like)
  • salt and pepper
  • an egg to cover the puff pastry before baking it

Divider3.png

I tried to make them look appealing

The idea was something like the one on the right, but then better if the puff pastry was divided in slices:

20190208_173821.jpg

But it wasn't and after two failed snacks of the model that I was hoping to make a few more of, I decided to just make round snacks, because that seemed easier. While making them I had this idea to call them: Puffin Rocks. My daughter always watches this cute tv show called Puffin'Rock that is just adorable, and one of these cartoons that doesn't get annoying. Because these snacks looked like some sort of failed rocks made out of puff pastry, I thought Puffin'Rocks would do the trick, plus my daughter liked it, so a win-win situation haha.

20190208_165905.jpg

Divider3.png

Mommy - Daughter time

She was helping me to mix up the filling with a spoon, while I was trying to make something that looked like you wanted to eat it. In the end every one of them looked different (depending on that part of the puff pastry, if it was working along with me while cutting it haha) I even made a few mini snacks, especially for my daughter. I had little hope that they would look appealing after the baking process. The went in the oven for 25 minutes looking like the picture above. Halfway there I had no hope that this would even taste a little ok (hey, at least I'm honest haha).

Divider3.png

20190208_173803.jpg

Guess what?

They were freaking delicious! And those puffin'rocking ones, that looked the worst, were the ones with the best bite. I was a little ashamed showing them to my boyfriend, and thought I'd get burned. Until he started eating, he kept repeating they were freaking delicious.. Lesson learnt again, never to judge a book by its cover, or in this case: a snack haha. He has been talking about them all day, and even tried to convince me to make them again today. I wasn't up for that today because I had a team tournament to play in the evening, but tomorrow I will make them again, and hopefully I can make them look pretty this time ;-)

Divider3.png

Sort:  

Wow @anouk.nox! Those look really delicious

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks they were actually :) made a new batch today haha :) yummm

Haha enjoy!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Wow you made that anouk? :O
Looks yumm!!! And you succeeded in making something that make people want to eat it, and the result is also delicious? That's awesome.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Yaaaayyyu😉 who cares about the look while you know it would be delicious just by the ingredients added @anouk.nox 😂 next time you kan just fold it like an envelope for a safety reason😂😂but it would be too boring to see too.

Unfortunelly I have to judge this book by its cover...because I would like eating this delicious recipe...
Congratulations and thank you very much to share this content with us 😊👍
Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

those look really delicious, I would like eating 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85