Talk: It's free.

in #life6 years ago

image

"Communication is a skill that you can learn. It's like riding a bicycle or typing. If you're willing to work at it, you can rapidly improve the quality of every part of your life."

Not being able to communicate is one of the main reasons why a lot of people are never able to turn potential to product. As Warren Buffett rightly said,
"If you can't communicate and talk to other people and get across your ideas, you're giving up your potential."

image
It's about getting the message across to the other person in the right way. It's about turning your thoughts into realities. It's about bringing your dreams to life. That is what communication is about.

Now I understand, it's not that easy to just start talking to a random person with confidence. Atleast not in the first few attempts. But if you try, things start falling in place for you. You just need to give it some time.

I recall back in school we had this debate competition. There were about a thousand people from different parts of the city sitting in front of me. My heart started beating faster than it normally used to. I might've not given the greatest of speeches, my rebuttal was probably the worst out of all the participants, but I did not stand in front of the mic silent. I spoke. Not well, but I spoke. I let them know what my thoughts were. All my friends were watching as well. And even today when I see the video recording of that speech, it is embarrassing. But here is the thing. The fruit lies beyond embarrassment. So I didn't quit. Three competitions later, I came home with the Best Speaker trophy.

image
You look at everything and everyone around you. Pick any field. Sports, politics, science, arts or any other domain. The only ones who succeed are the ones who are successfully able to convey their thoughts to the people. Words and ideas can change the world.

image

How to be a good communicator?
The only decent tip that I was given by someone was to keep trying. To keep improving yourself everyday. The smallest of changes can have a huge impact on how the other person sees us as a communicator. By being more energetic, more spontaneous, body language, trying to involve the other person in the conversation by occasionally using their name and most importantly, by listening to the other person.
These are very small things that we usually don't pay a lot of attention to.

A good communicator might not always be a good listener but a good listener will always be a good communicator.

Sort:  

Communication can be verbal or non verbal and the main thing is that it’s the matter of interaction and the behaviour of communication.

True, the purpose of communication is to somehow pass the message to the other person by any means, verbal or non verbal!

Thanks for participating in my upvote contest. I gave you a thumbs up ;-)

Best regards,
Achim

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70