From 🇵🇭 to 🇦🇪 with L❤️️VE | A Taste of Home Away from Home

in #life6 years ago

Some of you may remember how bad I felt for having missed our recent family reunion. It was really sad, but I had to stick to the practical side of things and just be happy that the clan had a great time while vowing not to miss the next one.

My aunt is finally back in Dubai

With her wallet still intact, I hope. Lol. It has been one month so back to reality for her. 😜

On her last few days in PH, I messaged her to bring me some kapeng barako, our best of all the best Batangas coffee. My mom also messaged me to ask what I want back, I also said the same. I'll be perfect with coffee. Haha.

Off to Dubai We Went

Her kitchen counter looked like a sari-sari store!

My Aunt flew in last August 1st (Wednesday) and I did not have the chance to meet her until last Friday only. Most of her pasalubongs were perishables. I had to be there.

The kids and I drove to Dubai to get the stuff. We braved the Dubai heat for the love of PH food. Haha.

There were around 18kgs of goodies waiting for us! My Aunt jokingly said that it seemed I just came from PH too. :D

My kids love going to her place because for them it is synonymous with swimming - they love swimming at the community pool. However, since it was too hot, that would be a very bad idea. Maybe next time.

My Mom Sent the Whole Batangas Over

We reached Abu Dhabi early, around 5:00pm. I quickly unloaded the packages, praying they would still be ok.

Look at what my mom sent!

I can only imagine how she lovingly packed each of them. And yeah, she said she numbered each pack so I can track them all since they just tossed them inside my Aunt's luggage. Smart eh?!

Did you see what was numbered "1"? My coffee of course. Haha.

FB chat with Motherhood.

Apparently, these goodies are not mine. Just labeled with my name, but really not mine.

Mum: "I told Tess to tell you that those are for my grandchildren because you may not share with them."

Me: "😁 😀I thought they were mine. They're not?"

LOL.

She sent some polvorons (powedered milk candies). She said she was only about to send two boxes but my father reminded that we don't want my 3 kids fighting so they ultimately sent three boxes.

They even butchered a native chicken for the kids, which Mum already cooked slightly so as not to spoil. Then loads of rambutan (mamonchinos) and white corns! Whew!

I may not have to buy grocery for the next two weeks.

Opening the Packs!

Oh, can you even imagine how much time I spent removing the packaging on each of them? Maybe longer than what it took for my mom to pack them. Haha.

The excitement though feels almost the same as opening #steemmonsters booster packs. Haha

Yow, mom! Did you just send me ice cream?!

Nah, that's Longganisang Taal (pork sausages) inside. haha.

Funny how we just love to reuse and recycle ice cream tubs. I suddenly remembered a joke,

"Come let's have dessert! There's ice cream in the fridge"
Gets the ice cream. Eyes open wide.
"Yaya! Why did you put the fish in the ice cream tub again?!"

Finally...

Thanks mudrabels @lerma and fafa-dear! We feel we're just next to you even for just a while. ❤️️❤️️❤️️


❤️️ Heart! Heart! From the @divinekids ❤️️

❤️️ Arlyn

20180516_002249_0001.png

banner by @enginewitty

Sort:  

Typical trait of pinoys: pasalubong.... 😊
Sarap ng kain ng mga divine kids ah 😋

Korek! Pinoy na Pinoy. <3

Nanlalaki pa ung mata ni janjan habang nanguya 😂😂😂

Namualan sa panutsa ih. Haha

Haha. Ang dami! Yummy filipino delicacies.
Hello @divinekids. Hello pretty little Miss. Xx

Balikbayan din daw ako. Haha

Hello tita @sherylneil! ❤️️, divinekids

Omg those kids eyes are just too cute!!!😍

Oh yes they are! I am smitten everyday. 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05