The Legacy Gift

in #life6 years ago

Almost four years ago, in October 2014, I received on behalf of my daughter, a Legacy Gift.

Before then or even up to now, I really do not have any idea what a Legacy Gift actually is...

What I do know is that the gesture behind it was so sweet and thoughtful. It was not necessary but still, he made it.

June 2014

I was heavily pregnant with Little Miss. It was perhaps the second week of June and I was due to pop around June 30th. At work, an orphan client came and I had to attend to him. An orphan client is someone who does not have any direct advisor (the advisor may have left the company- we are an insurance company) and hence falls under the company's direct customer services.

Having worked in my company for several years already, I knew this client from way back when I was still a receptionist. That time in 2014, he was reaching 65 years and would retire in a few months. I helped him with his investment policy's encashment paperwork.

"When are you having your baby?" he asked me after some time.

"I am due at the end of the month but I am sure am going to deliver before that, maybe next week already," I answered.

"Is it a girl or a boy?"

"It's gonna be a girl."

Rheign Gabrielle

I delivered to a beautiful baby girl on the 19th of June, became busy with mommyhood and almost forgot about the conversation with the client.

Until when I came back to work after my maternity leave and I got a call from him.

He asked me how had I been and how was the baby. I said "excellent" for both.

"What's your baby's name?"

"Rheign Gabrielle," I answered.

"I will come to your office one day, I have something for Rheign."

"It is not for you. It is for Rheign."

I said it was not necessary. What I did was part of my job and a "thank you" is more than enough. But he insisted that the gift was not for me but for my daughter. I did not argue.

He said to "keep it for Rheign and let her have it when she's 12 years old."

Curious? Open and see but "still keep it for Rheign and let her have it when she is 12 years old."

After battling with myself for a few days, curiosity, of course, won over and I took a peek inside the box.

Priceless Legacy.

I was a little confused with what I saw. I did not understand the value of the contents at that time. But looking back now, I am just seeing how valuable the gift really is. Valuable in a literal sense and otherwise.

It has been four years and I can never forget the sweet gesture of this old man. My heart still swells each time I remember his thoughtfulness. There are 8 more years left before I can hand over this legacy gift to my daughter and though I am not sure where he is at nowadays, I decided to keep this memory on the blockchain.

We have a clearer picture together, taken when we accidentally saw him at a restaurant a few days later. I decided not to put that here though but I will surely show that picture of him to my daughter one day.

I will tell her that this man appreciated her Mommy more than he really should have and decided to pass a gift to her.

There are many underlying factors on a legacy gift-giving such as financial planning, donation, taxation, etc.

However, for me, the most important thing is that his memory shall live on and wherever he is, I will remember him as our nice soft-spoken client from way, way back.

Thank you, Mr. Mike.

❤️️ Arlyn


All photos are mine, taken via my Samsung Galaxy Note 3.


20180516_002249_0001.png

banner by @enginewitty

Sort:  

It's amazing that there are still people who are so thoughtful , it just reflect how good you are with your clients ate @arrliinn :*

Yes... i was teary-eyed as I remembered him. I actually thought I lost our photo with him but thankfully not. I Shall have it printed and put it with the gift. <3

That's soo sweet. Yes, it really is, its the thought that counts and not the gift.

Hello beautiful Reign : )

He really is...

Congratulations @arrliinn! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Swerteng bata... (^_^)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76