You have 24 hours and an unlimited supply of money, what would you do?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

While going to work earlier I had a thought... which then turned into a daydream. 

On the 30 minute MRT ride, I was thinking if I sold several luxury condo units I'd have millions of pesos. And what would I do with it? 3 Million PHP would not even let me buy my own 1 bedroom condo in Metro Manila. But P30 Million would be enough for me and my family plus some charity work... Which charity though? And then my thoughts turned to the environment.

Would P30 Million be enough to rehabilitate a polluted river? 

Ah but wait, I am getting ahead of myself. I shall write more of that on another post.

I wasn't able to answer this Musing question months ago. I did write something but I wasn't able to post it for some reason based on my comment to someone's answer to this question.  I saw this again as it was bookmarked on my browser so now I can finally answer it!


My answer to the question months ago was to buy everything my family needs and wants, donate to charities and travel the world. Now it seems when the prospect of actually earning millions is at hand, my mind went to specifics. So my answer to this question now is, to fund environmental rehabilitation efforts in the Philippines, and then the entire world. 

Our planet is polluted. With 24 hours of unlimited money I could provide all the funds to clean Earth. (Nevermind paying for the Philippine Marcos debt, that is their debt to pay and not our government or anyone else's responsibility. Ugh, but that is an ugly [but maybe necessary] topic to discuss in a separate post.)

We could go a step further from funding the cleansing of our planet. I would fund projects to stop global warming. Wouldn't that be something? 


Will I be able to do all that in 24 hours though? The research alone on which NGOs or projects need funding would take me hours. Contacting them would take a few more hours too. Whew, I'd have to hire a team of virtual assistants to help me out.  Even hiring the right people would still take me hours and then checking on their results would cost some more hours. Whoa.

But then again, some say global warming is part of Earth's history. They say it happens from eon to eon or something. Uhm... Well now, this answer is getting way out there so I shall stop here. Lol.


Sort:  

I also have the same thought, living in the city for almost my whole life made me realize that we neglect to take good care of the gift given to us by nature. (Masyado kasing nakafocus sa pangsarili hays guilty din ako hahaha) also to help people in the province whose beyond our reach. I've been to our province few days ago and saw how tough and poor their living is, despite of their hardword. sigh

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh so that's why ika'y nawala ng mtgal. Lol.

My ans and your and match a lot.!!! Nice question BTW...!!

Posted using Partiko Android

But then again, some say global warming is part of Earth's history.

Even if that's true, which it is, there's no reason not to wish for our planet to be cleaned up. It's not just global warming that's at stake here, but also the extinction of millions of species of animals and plants, it's the pollution of drinking water and sound pollution and light pollution and so much more. Your wish to bring some balance back, by whatever means available is noble and beautiful. Thanks for sharing @artgirl, this was an enjoyable read 😊

You're welcome. Thanks for appreciating it too.

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Ok... will do.

Hi @artgirl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.400 which ranks you at #7061 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 32 places in the last three days (old rank 7029).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 218 contributions, your post is ranked at #176.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29