When you work almost 12 hours a day... disaster

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone, it has been awhile. The fact that you see me writing this on the weekdays is considered rare since I have skipped so many days in Steemit. Today is slightly different because I wasn't well for being too exhausted at work. So I took the day off to relax and recharge.

If you have been following me, I took up a job in a startup, it started off as an internship, soon I find myself landing in a position called Overseas Media Manager.

My title comes with responsibilities, so I was pushing myself a lot lately, working on late nights on my own to communicate with key people I need for the project, WRONG MOVE. It has taken my health on a toll. I find myself working almost 12 hours a day because I bring my work home. As a media manager, it is part of my job to contact Instagrammers, Youtubers, and bloggers for promotional and sponsored post. I am also the content writer for the company's projects. In other words, some of the stuff you see on the internet, are my words.

The Challenges?

Time difference

I will start with the time difference, China and the U.S have almost 12 hours of time difference. Meaning that 9.30 a.m. in China will be 9.30 p.m. in the U.S or Canada. Assuming that people check their emails at night and if they work during the day, I only have 3 hours to communicate with the influencers before 12 a.m. at their time zone. I send emails to at least 50 of them a day, and usually only a handful replied. Because I'm using the company's email, I need to consider the fact that the email might end up in the spam box. So everyday is a constant checking up with the influencers, hoping that they will reply the emails.

Being in China doesn't give me an advantage; the emails I sent has to be visible to the influencers. So I actually scheduled my emails to be sent at 8p.m. or sometimes I will still be working in front of my laptop in my room, accommodating to U.S time zone, which leads me to working almost 12 hours for that day. If you exclude the time it takes to get to my workplace and lunch hours. Basically, I only get 6 hours of sleep.

Budget

Second disadvantage, working with a Chinese startup does put a constraint to the budget because U.S Dollars is 6 times higher than Chinese Yuan. If we want to gain exposure in the U.S, we need to use press and media , key influencers or KOI( Key Opinion Leaders) from there. So if a youtuber's pricing for a YouTube mention is 3,000 USD, it is actually 18,000 Chinese Yuan for a mention, it is quite expensive for us.

Fortunately, I actually have the freedom to make decisions, in condition that it brings ROI(Return of Investment). The fact that I need to make this kind of monetary decisions does put me in a pressuring spot. It has to work, and there is no excuse for failure.

Groundbreaking works

I am actually doing groundbreaking works for the company. They never push so much projects to the media before and I'm actually quite proud of my contribution. Almost every project we have done now has good videos since I personally know a few directors and video editors myself.

I find it impossible to do everything on your own, you need a team. Unfortunately, we are almost short-handed all the time. I find myself writing for 3 or 4 different projects at the same time. No kidding. It can be exhausting to the mind because our projects are very different from each other. Imagine writing content for fashion and tech stuff, I don't know if any of you writers actually done it on the same day. (please let me know in the comments)
Some of the projects have been featured on @steemhunt too.

Conclusion

As I write these post, I actually felt better since I'm getting things off my chest. I find myself needing the mental strength to continue my day in the office tomorrow. There is still so much to be done. Working for a Chinese companies can be really challenging but if I don't get a personal assistant or flexible office hours, I might really burnt-out again. It is my second time taking a day off in 5 months because of exhaustion. I have talk to my father who is also a professional Interpersonal Consultant, and his explanation to my condition is this:

"Currently, you're like a car that is suppose to run 70 miles/hour, yet you are running at 100 miles! You need to rest!"

and so I had a day off, and I'm so much better right now.

Just to make it clear, I do not represent any particular product. I am a Media Manager hired by contract or one time project. So, companies that seek our services are usually designers or manufacturers that make really cool products but they are unsure on how to market them outside China. That is where I come in, my department provides (what I like to call), the "Public Packaging", so that it will be appealing to the market.

That's all from me, see you next time. Cheers,
namecard2.jpg

Profile
Reena.K(pen name) is a member of steemit, content writer and editor for several products on the market. Team leader of Overseas Media Department for a Chinese startup in Beijing, the team and her has lead several PR successes, most notably MESAY 2.0, a project that was launched on Kickstarter. Currently, Reena is working on the PR for SOX, a new fashion brand by TOHSI Industrial Creative.
She has worked with several internet influencers and bloggers. If you're interested to work with Reena.K, please DM on her social media and send an email.

She also consults students who wants to study abroad as part of the SA program by the International Business School of Beijing Foreign Studies University.


SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

That sounds exhausting! Thank you for sharing your experience, it is good to know there are others out there who just don’t have the time and energy to post something here every day.

Hang in there, your hard work will pay off in the long run!

Thanks a lot. I do love steemit so I'm going to make an effort for it. I need a place to get all the wild and crazy ideas out =D

Don't overdo it, you may try to do more and help more but as you noticed this will end up with health issues and the more you work the less productive you are!

thanks for the kind advice... i will never do something that my body could not handle again. i am learning to take one thing at a time, its exhausting when ure also the only writer in the company.

that's the startup nature it i think. Because they are not certain of what they will achieve they begin with very few people that most of the times ''forced'' to do way more work than necessary. On the other hand the money factor and the environment are supposed to be better as well as the evolution of each individual person working there but that's not always the case :P

yup. on the bright side, i learn a lot. The work is like my experiment lab, and because everyone is in their early 30s, there isnt a clear hierachy like in typical asian companies, and that is what i love about my job.

The adrenaline keeps you going, but i gotta becareful with that too. Lol.
I believe startups build leaders because we need to make a lot of decisions. When i tell my peers the things I do, they said the company is pretty lucky to have me because i do have working experience, and im lucky to have a playground. And like a child in a playground, we fall on hard surface, and we also swing to the skies. its a mix of both 😁
i just gotta learn how to balance them

you couldn't be more right! haha and when you become a leader in company or you create your own in the distant future hire us :P

Appreciate the love , and yes. i will post a vacancy in steemit for that =D

UPDATE: hey everyone, thank you for your love and support. I took one day off work and slept like almost 10 hours, i feel 5 times better and I intend to rest more during the weekend so I can fully recover. My body has been depending on caffeine to perform well for the past 4 months, and now it is beginning to tell me I can't continue to do so. I am still writing on Steemit and I have so much catching up to do. You will definitly see me reading your posts too. Love you all.

Reena.K

It's good to take a step back and relax once in awhile. I find my body does get very run down if I overwork with long hours for a number of days in a row. Hope you get better soon!

Thank you so much, I agree with you, it is good to step back and relax. I guess I overestimated myself and thought I was young like I was 17, LOL.

It's time to accept that I have limits. I love my work, but it when it gets overwhelming, it can be really exhausting. Thanks for dropping by! cheers

Well, sounds like you have a really busy life at the moment. Hang in there and keep taking breaks as you need them. Time differences can be a real nuisance sometimes.

Indeed! well, its is challenging to accommodate everywhere, some projects I concentrate on time zone in new york , sometimes I will concentrate on east coast, but still its at least 12 hours difference. Culture difference is also one of the things i deal with, eventhough I'm asian, there are still difference in terms of thinking and mindset while working with Chinese companies

I have to make something that is created in the mindset of Chinese ppl, and market it to the west. LOL
so, it is challenging but I do enjoy them. I guess it would be the same vice versa =)

It's a lot to keep a track of. Time zones and cultural differences must make your job tiring. I've never been in such a situation, so cannot fully comprehend how difficult it must be. It's good to know that you enjoy your job regardless of the difficulties you face.

Good lesson to learn now at a young age...be confident that you are doing a remarkable job...I hope you get positive feedback...its okay to want to impress...but as you are learning...you will be no good to anybody if you suffer a breakdown...and I guarantee...the pace one sets while young...can haunt them years later...keep up the great work....but find time to chill...you have earned it and you are worth it.

thanks a lot! I really appreciate your kind words and I'm definitely not going to push myself too hard after experiencing the exhaustion this time.

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Congratulations @asianetwork! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I really admire your efforts. That sounds like a very exhausting lifestyle - I wouldn’t be able to find the energy to post on SteemIt when working so many hours...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10