To The Person That Overthinks

in #life5 years ago

Like Me.

Who is with me on this one, or is it just me?

You know the number of times you've put something off after thinking unnecessarily hard over it, or how the excitement died down and your thought of it being the “perfect” idea or course of action just went away within a twinkle of an eye because well, you overthink?

Right, that happens to almost all of us and sometimes, we just can't help but indulge in it. Overthinking often shows up when we are about to start out something new. A seemingly perfect idea with sparkles all over becomes dull and non-existent because our art of overthinking revealed some little flaws, magnified and used it to scare us off. But, it's all in our head, really.

Recently, I have written differently than I used to when I first started out here — I write more about me. Well, not too much about the present me but a little bit about about my childhood adventures and most of the time, I get stuck overthinking, moving things all through my head and concluding that its not a great idea, after all.

And one of the thoughts overthinking will always bring forth was the fact that, these are only “childish” memories and no one really is interested in reading all the crazy stuff you did back then and all of a sudden, the excitement disappears, the magic of that memory seems non-existent anymore. Reading great comments from you sure does ignite that feeling...

Most times, I trick myself into writing on a paper instead of directly typing it, I make myself believe that I am just writing it down and not necessarily gonna post it and well, after that, I take the next step. I dunno if this is always gonna work but it does work now😊. Slowly and steady…

Sometimes, overthinking shows up even in daily choices we make, like the clothes we wanna wear or even the food we want to eat or even showing love to people we care about. Overthinking sometimes makes that which is so close to us appear so far

Yeah, some things do need a little bit more thinking (not over) but others just don't — they are supposed to be free-flowing. Like the clothes you wanna wear to hang out with your friends, just be comfortable.

Overthinking about things we do or steps we take most times to reveal unnecessary flaws, make them appear so big and most times our idea of “flawlessness” or our fears take over. All of a sudden, that amazing idea seems so lame!

So, when that fear or insecurity comes thanks to the “art” of overthinking, take a step back and reconnect with that excitement, that magic, and that beauty you felt the first time you thought of that idea. Yeah, that amazing feeling!! And when you do, step into action, else you're gonna end up in that cycle of overthinking over and over again.

Sometimes, reconnecting might not be the easier option but neither is thinking hard, so take that step, even when unsure.

Don't drive yourself crazy, sometimes, just let things flow just as they are supposed to

This is silly but I am gonna click on that “post” button anyway😉



Much Love — Audrey❤

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by audreybits from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Don't drive yourself crazy, sometimes, just let things flow just as they are supposed to

What a wonderful article Audrey <3 I tried hard to remind me of that the last weeks, doesn't work out all the time, unfortunately. Thank you so much for reminding me of so much.

@eveningart, so so happy I have seen you today, thank you so much for joining us <3 - only 6 days left :)
I am sure you will enjoy @audreybits post just as I did <3

Yeah, its sad that it doesn't always work. My pleasure!

Indeed, you gotta strike while the idea is hot. I do overthing sometimes, ( I think it is the reason for my grey hair LOl)

But really overthinking and over planning just reins the momentum. I like your advice on stepping back and finding that excitement again.
Great read Audrey :)

So you have Grey hair? Hahahah! No wonder you love keeping your hair low but its all good anyways.

Thank you!

exactly LOL. Im getting to the point whee I do not care but I am not yet there LOL

Thinking is good. It makes you go the extramile.

Yeah, it is! But most times thinking too much and over things you already are sure of makes thinking counter productive.

Well, it depends on the nature of your thinking anyways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79