What I Learned About Life And Marketing Yourself From My First Job

in #life5 years ago (edited)

169044843.png

So you guys might know from my last post that I recently got my first job ever, and well, there are a lot of things that I've learned in the one month that I've worked with them, both philosophical and practical.

You can consider this article a Part 2 kinda-thing of what I shared yesterday as I'll be sharing some follow-up stories and the things that I couldn't cover up the last time.

You see, when first starting out, freshers often tend to be a little naive and think that the company is doing them some sort of favor by giving them the job, which makes them want to settle even if the pay is significantly low just so they can get the job early.

As my friend @delishtreats once put it when discussing job interviews in one of my older posts,

It is important to show that you're worth it. It is not a company doing you a favor by hiring you. They need you too! So it's a normal conversation between two parties trying to come to a result that is acceptable for both of them. This is very difficult to realize when you are young and you have no experience but you did it!

I like how she added that I did it, lol!

Anyway, what she talks about is pretty spot-on and really important to understand, especially for folks who are new in the whole corporate game. The company needs your skills just as much as you need their money, as simple as that.


Sorry But I Don't Come For Free


The best way to counter this, I think, is to do a little math before you actually enter the interview room. First, you need to calculate what's the lowest salary you can afford to take, and then add the amount that you think will make your expected salary match with the skills that you posses that you'll be providing to them.

Also, measure the cost and benefit of the time you'll be investing in that company. If you could be doing something much more productive and profitable in that time, perhaps through freelancing, then there's no point in trying to get a job right now.

I don't really consider myself that good at negotiation, but when it comes to money, I never let the company take advantage of me and trap me in their words somehow to make me agree on a lower salary, nope. I know what I'm worth, and if you want me, you gotta pay me fair.

Even if they say no for an arguably fair pay, don't hesitate to walk out that door. You might not get the job, but your word is out there in the world making an impact. You are slowing marketing yourself, which will help you improve your image as a professional allowing you to be able to ask for a higher pay later on in life.


When Life Says, "Congratulations, But..."


Now here's the story that I really wanted to talk about since yesterday, and bear with me for a few minutes here because I promise it leads up to a valuable lesson.

Like I mentioned, it's been almost a month since I've been working at my first job, which I am really happy about. But then my life was like, "Yeah, but wait a minute," and then things got a little complicated.

What do I mean? Well, I'd planned to change my college for the next semester since months now and the 2nd year is supposed to start from June itself. But the problem is, the college that I want to change to, has decided to shift the timings a little late from the normal morning timings.

They've decided to stretch it between late afternoon and early evening, which means that I'll no longer be able to do full-time. The way I had planned it earlier, was that I'll be done with college in the morning and then I can do the job full-time till late in the evening and Steemit even later at night, but now my whole schedule is pretty much ruined.


When You Tell Life, "Bring It On!"


But I didn't let this misfortune get the best of me. I worked out an arrangement. Again. And this time, I took advantage of my situation. I told my boss about what happened and that I needed to quit, but what I didn't tell him is that I've already had an interview with a different company who has almost agreed to take me for part-time and for a better pay per hour, hehe!

You know that feeling when you feel so good that you feel kinda evil? Yeah, that's me right now lol.

I'm a college student, after all. We always have a back-up plan. Anyway, if I do get this job, I'll be able to manage all 3 productive aspects of my life once again: Job, college, and Steemit. I think it's better this way for me because it kinda sucks to sit almost alone in the office everyday when it gets late and feel kinda lonely and wanting to go home ASAP.

With this new job, if I get it, I'll be able to give my time and energy to each priority equally, with some time to spare for other stuff too. What ALL of it ultimately hints at and why I made you read such a long story is that life, no matter how messy it can be, has a habit of always working out somehow in the end.

A lesson I've been trying to learn for a long time.

Update: I got the job! :)

av4tt0mlsg.png

Related articles:



Capture.PNG

Follow Me: @ayushjalan

Sort:  

Hahaha, you say that you're not good at negotiations but you clearly have a plan in your head! I like it! With this attitude you'll come far in your working life :) I'm glad that all is working out for you and that you found a solution for the school situation..

Thank you for mentioning me :) I'm surprised that you haven't forgotten my comment yet :)

Have a lovely day!

I guess I do have a plan haha! I mean, not exactly a plan but definitely a rough idea.

I really liked what you said in that comment of yours. You helped me remind how valuable a fresher can be, even if they don't have experience.

I guess the corporate world of today is slowly prioritizing skills over experience. After all, experienced people ask for more salary but a skilled fresher can do the same job in a more efficient way AND for a lower pay.

But what companies often ignore is that the modern day teen is an opportunist. If they find a better opportunity, they will move on without hesitation. That's what I did.

I will definitely miss the people that I'm currently working with and also the informal and "chill" environment in our office, but progress demands change, and I'm up for it.

I hope you have a wonderful day too :)

Wow, that was fast. Nice that you were able to upgrade your life so quickly. I wish you the best in your new new job!

your new new job!

Haha thanks! I'm not usually someone who likes to take big decisions, let alone this quickly. But I guess when life calls, you just have to answer.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ayushjalan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Upvoted!

That is amazing advice from @delishtreats

Know you're worth! Easy to fall into the trap that you need you.

It sure is! She does indeed seem to know her stuff haha!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You got a 8.78% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @ayushjalan! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76