What I Learned From Meeting An Old Friend After Two Years

in #life6 years ago

ac.png

As we get older, we start to meet tons of new people in our lives and make a lot of new friends in the process. But somewhere down that road, we soon began to realize that we are also starting to lose connection with those who we once thought we could never leave.

I'm sure you will relate with me when I say that life becomes a lot more realistic when you finish school and slowly start to step into the real world where you no longer see yourself hanging out with your old friends. It's a reminder that not everyone you meet will stay in your life forever.

But that's just the way life is. We find people, we lose them, and we find them again. Same happened with me today when my best friend and I met one of our old friends from our former school. Needless to say, we had an awesome day.

The whole experience brought back so many memories and made so many new ones that it taught me some of the most valuable lessons of life; ones that I didn't think could mean this much.

Dwelling On The Past Isn't Always A Bad Thing

sssss.jpg

The best part about getting to meet your old friends is how you can relive all those memories from the past and laugh about all the stupid things you guys did together back then. Even talking about it is an experience in itself.

Dwelling on your past isn't always a bad thing, especially if you know that those memories are worth reliving and treasuring. In fact, it's healthy to discuss your past. Good or bad. It relieves your heart from the urge of wanting to share it with someone.

For us, we talked about all the times in school when we used to play stupid pranks on each other and had a funny nickname for every student in our class, and chat about who is pursuing what in their lives and what they aim to become since now the time to make serious decisions has come.

It honestly felt so... unbelievable, how fast the time went by. I mean, just a few years ago we were kids who had to ask for permission if we wanted to go to the washroom and now we are seen as young adults who have to design the new world.

Still The Same From The Inside

pexels-photo-277477.jpeg

No matter how old or different you become, there are some qualities in each of us that just never change. We may change entirely from the outside with time, but we know that we are all still the same deep inside.

Even though the way we express ourselves and make decisions is completely different now, but a part of us always stays the same; it never fades away no matter what. We may act all grown up and mature, but we all know that we're still kids at heart.

At least I believe so, because the way we talked seemed so natural as if we were never separated to begin with. Sure it was a little slow at first, but it didn't take much time for the conversation to flow easy.

At one point it started to feel unreal because I thought that it's gonna be emotionally exhausting to rewind everything back in its place. But surprisingly, it was so easy that it literally felt like we talked just the day before.

Life Has A Funny Way Of Teaching You

1_rbY-o3HMnAO8jTj6Q84ZtQ.jpeg

Honestly, I never thought I will see any of my old friends again, at least not anytime soon. Yet, somehow I did. It's funny how life gives you what you wanted once you stop having expectations for it.

I have noticed this pattern a lot of times in my life. My best friend and I became friends when I had absolutely zero friends of my own in school at that time and stopped thinking if I'll make any in the first place.

Again it happened recently when I almost gave up hope that I'll ever get to do something I love for a living. Soon after, I got introduced to Steemit. I can't say that this is true for everyone, but it has happened with me for long enough for me to start seeing a pattern.

Now this obviously doesn't mean that you should stop having hope. Hope is important to keep us standing on our feet. What I mean is, to keep your expectations to the minimum and trust life to work things out for you because somehow it always finds a way.

Oh, and here's us.

IMG_20180812_154058-011.jpeg

av4tt0mlsg.png

If you liked this article or found it useful, you might also like:

Continue reading:


Follow Me: @ayushjalan

Sort:  

I totally get ya.

Looking back at my friends from university days, things have changed so much. Yet, they are still very much how I remember them back when we were housemates, etc.

Yup!! No matter how much we change, our roots still hold us :)

your post took me back to my college days..and as soon as I am done writing this comment, I am calling one of my closest buddies I haven't met in a year.

There you go!! Glad I could remind you of those times :)

The best type of friendship is those which you can just pick up where you left off. I recently met up with a bunch of my high school friends, some I last saw 15 years ago, but its like we all saw each other yesterday! We were all laughing and joking and of course reminiscing about all the crazy things we did back then!

That's so awesome!! Yeah it's crazy how even after being apart for such a long time, we are somehow still able to keep that bond alive with our buddies.

Always great to touch base with like-minded, fellow journeymen of life, no?

Namaste, Jaichai

Of course! Especially when those like-minded fellow journey men have been by your side since the beginning.

Congratulations @ayushjalan! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @ayushjalan ... Nicely written, and a 'plus' for the Steemit community. I am happy to re-steem it so that it might reach more folks.

Thank you so much! It really means a lot :)

Congratulations @ayushjalan! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ayushjalan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87