What single habit has improved your life as a whole?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

View the original post on Musing.io

 I would like to talk about a habit that I have made a practice recently. I have made sure I don't miss doing two things every day.  There is also a third thing I really want to start doing. But I will cover it in a separate post. 

  • Read something everyday
  • Write something everyday

And the third thing that I'm not currently doing but will soon start doing is

  • Exercise every single day

This has always been one of my dream. I have never been able to read any physical books till today. Though I have managed to read a few. It has always been a big challenge for me till today. But I read lots of short things. Every single day I read many short articles. I never miss to read short things which includes news, articles or blogs. After joining steemit my reading habit has drastically increased. 


During my young age, when I was in school, I remember being a part of a soft-skills training session. During the end of that session the person who took the session for us asked to take away few learning from the session.  This includes three things namely reading, writing and exercising every single day. I was able to achieve the first two days so far. 

Read something everyday

After joining steemit, I have made it as a regular habit to read my favorite authors or articles on my favorite topics. This has really changed my life. Not that it improves my knowledge but this habit really gives a great feeling for me.  I don't really depend on my laptop or books to read something. Since we have everything available in our mobile device itself, I'm able to read articles and news from my mobile. This has helped me stay on top of all the current trends. 


Books have always been a very big attraction for me. I never miss any book fair or exhibition that happens near my place. But unfortunately I like collecting books but I'm not good in making use of physical books. I lose focus easily if I force myself and start to read a book. But you will not believe if I say I'm a good reader. All I read are from online sources and short sources. I don't really have the patience to sit and read a complete physical book. Maybe it will gradually change in the future who knows. But I really have lots of books in my house as part of my collection. 

Write something everyday

I always wanted to write books. This was one of my dream from my childhood. I'm not quite sure if I'm fit for that but still I wanted to give it a try. Before 8 years I decided why not write blogs and articles. I initially started writing blogs and later inclined towards writing articles for money. After I started writing articles for money, my quality of writing got highly affected. I also developed a hatred or hesitation towards writing. Even today if my mind says that I have to write something today, my mind will go for a second thought. 


But leaving all the hurdles and external factors, I have managed to write articles every single day. Today I have made it as a practice where I don't go to sleep without writing anything every single day. The only thing that I always have in my mind is to always think that I'm writing for myself and not for others. I have even compromised on the quality. I don't really care about my article quality. At the end of the day I'm highly satisfied that I'm writing my thoughts down. This has really changed my life very well. I'm also getting my writing skills back. 

I feel the writing should be based on a selfless motive and not for the sake of money. Then only we will be able to get the true benefit and feel from it. I'm happy that I have been able to consistently write something every single day as a habit that is improving the quality of my life.  

Image Source: Pixabay.com 

Sort:  

Now I just realized that my daily habit is checking on social media sites. Which is overall...not good. Lol.
Good thing for you! You will become a great writer with your habit.

I'm not quite sure if I'm fit for that but still I wanted to give it a try.

That's the spirit! Reading and writing is a challenging one to maintain, and so far you are doing good with it. I don't read much, but hey! You caught my attention and I got to read it til the end. So that must mean you're good at keeping your reader's attention. ;)
Just keep moving forward :D

I feel the writing should be based on a selfless motive and not for the sake of money. Then only we will be able to get the true benefit and feel from it.

So true!

Thanks for the nice words @hiddenblade. Well, I should have mentioned it at the beginning of the article. The first thing that I did to make my life productive was to quit social media sites. Sites like Facebook, Instagram are highly addictive. As soon as I stopped spending time there, I had lots of time to spend on productive things.

I'm really glad that I grabbed your attention and made you read till the end. :)

Yes they are! But I don't want to say goodbye to memes. :( Guess I'll just try my best to manage my time. I also just started exercising this week. In fact, I enrolled myself in martial arts and I NEVER had any physical activities prior to that. I'm not sporty. So exercising is a new world for me. I should say you should do it now, too! I encourage you to do so!

Thanks for the encouragement @hiddenblade. Yes I have to start it soon. Before starting anything new I'm currently in the phase of stabilizing what I have already started. Once I feel confident, I will look forward to introduce a new habit in me.

By the way good luck with your journey in martial arts. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

That makes sense. Start when you are ready, goodluck! And thank you! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bala41288 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello @bala41288, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99