Barbaric collection of birch sap

in #life6 years ago (edited)

DSC04114.JPG

Since my childhood I love birch sap. I could drink a few liters of it a day. In the times of the former USSR, this juice was sold at every grocery store and was very cheap. It was a commodity for which there was no deficit. Almost everything was a deficit. I loved the juice, but until yesterday I did not see how it was mined. And this way of extracting the juice is barbaric. It is possible that not all people who produce this juice do so, as I saw, but, this is an unpleasant sight. Above the tree just scoffed.

DSC04113.JPG
DSC04112.JPG

In these photos you can see jars with birch juice, which are installed next to the tree. On the trunk of the tree an oblique incision is made and an aluminum trough is driven into it. On this trough the juice gets into the jar.

DSC04106.JPG

At first glance, it should be so, but! These jars stand near the tree from the spring. Birch sap is beginning to be harvested in early spring. Nobody treated these wounds on the tree with antiseptics. About these jars are simply forgotten. The next year they plan to just replace these jars with new ones. And so continue to scoff at the tree. Even the earth after harvest is allowed to rest one season. These trees do not have to rest.

DSC04107.JPG

In theory, after collecting the juice, the scars on the tree should be treated with antiseptic drugs, tied up and give the tree a year to rest. The procedure is the same as when grafting branches to a tree. But, very few people do this.

DSC04109.JPG

I saw a birch, which is 92 years old, 70 of which she gave her juice after one or two years. This birch was given a rest, cared for it. Now, this birch has dried up. The previous owners of this tree cared for it After selling the house and the plot, the new owners used the tree year after year and it withered. There is not a single leaf left. It is sad to look at such a picture. I even forgot to take pictures of the tree from frustration. If I am again in those parts, I will correct this mistake.

DSC04138.JPG

It's all right, when you come to business with a head, and not with a bag that is stuffed with sawdust, or hay, let the Scarecrow forgive me, or, frightened, they have more brains than these juice collectors.

DSC04139.JPG

In general, the birch juice is very tasty. I love it with sugar and lemon juice. Someone makes of this juice kvass, adding fried barley, or malt. It turns out a very tasty drink.

I want to wish everyone a cool breeze in the summer in the shadow of age-old birches!

DSC04108.JPG

Photos taken with a Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX300 camera
Author @barski
Ukraine

@cleverbot, @banjo , hello

Sort:  

From my childhood, I just know that we can do this with rubber tree
but you are the first who has revealed this secret to us
Thanks a lot, dear
@maujmasti

I have never heard of birch juice before @barski.

It is a shame that people don't take better care of the trees. There must be a gentler way to extract the sap you would have thought. 😢

Do you sort out your Voting Power issue? 😊

Thank you @gillianpearce ! Regarding the issue of voting, I am trying to understand this issue. I understand that completely this topic for 7 seals.)) In general terms, I already understood.

Haha I am not human how much times i have to repeat you that i am the perfect one , god , creator of everything that exist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76