Living In The Shadows

in #life5 years ago

Living in the shadow, can you imagine what kind of life it is to live?
In the shadows, people see you as happy and free because thats what you want them to see.
Living two lives, happy but not free, you live in the shadows for fear of someone hurting your family or the person you love.
The world is changing and they say its time to be free but you live with the fear of just being "me"- cut out from Jay Z song titled Smile

Living in the shadows feels like the safe place to be, no harm for them, no harm for me but life is short and its time to be free.
Love who you love because life isn't guaranteed. Smile

Fitting in has always been a chore for me. Sometimes I look at how others are living, the way their lives all seem similar to me, their similar premises to making decisions and their similar wants and desires, it leaves me bewildered. I really want to be like everybody else, I want to feel the same weird confidence others feel and be a part of their shenanigans.

I grow sick of the status quo, sick of people always having a notion of what I'm suppose to be, they play the same songs about religion and how life should be, I will be fine and I hope you'll let me be, because all of this isn't all it's cut out to be. I'll be me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17