Awkward... but oh so interesting!

in #life5 years ago

Unsplash

So, I had a rehearsal that finished early... and so I've got a few hours to kill before needing to teach. So, I've holed up at a cafe so that I can continue writing submissions for Binance. So, I've got my coffee and cake... and some peace and quiet... or at least I thought so!

The table directly in front of me... has a man and woman, that are having a barely civil conversation (in English...) about something... something about leaving a job, passports... something about assets and a house... the guy is seemingly quite defensive, and the woman is attacking him, and trying to get some information out of him.... but the guy is really defensive. There is a lot of forced laughing... but it is really interesting stuff. Having only just sat down, I'm still trying to gather if I can figure out the whole story...

Anyway, the interesting thing... there was a phone conversation, where the woman was talking to someone... and then she starts accusing the guy of lying.... and then a few minutes later, another guy walks in and sits down. This guy is just sitting and not saying anything... but he seems to be trying to be either the mediator or protection for one or the other person.

It's all really quite awkward... I can just hear most of the conversation... but reading a transcript would be much easier! I'm completely enthralled! However, it does make writing articles about crypto pretty difficult! Should I continue eavesdropping... or should I get back to writing?

... in the back of my mind... I'm hoping it doesn't get violent though.... that would be incredibly awkward....


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

What is the saying?
Curiosity killed the cat.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol! But I'm not curious! Just eavesdropping!

Sounds like she caught on to something he had decided she was never supposed to know about. Conversation becomes awkward when you no longer trust a person enough that you can open up to them, or don't want them to know the real truth.

It is what it sounds like... Although, I am still not sure if the illicit information related directly to her or if she was acting on behalf of someone else!

Hah! The other day I spent my whole train ride listening to a woman tell her friends about the surprise baby she had, at 37 weeks, when she didn't even know she was pregnant. She went to the hospital because of stomach pains!

It was better than the book I brought with me, that's for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha ha! You must get quite a few of those interesting conversations on the train! The hardest part is pretending to be reading....

I'd continue eavesdropping but that's just me lol. I'm nosy like that and I'd want to know the whole story. That's a very interesting situation you stumbled upon. The whole thing fills one with questions.

Exactly! This is my instinct as well... I'm just so curious about how the incomplete information manages to piece itself together into a coherent story!

It so hard to work like this and its kinda hard to ask them to silent down. I hope you finished what you are doing.

Yes... in the end I did manage to finish what I was there for!

That's great whats your secret? Or did they just leave?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sadly... They just left... And then I could get back to my work!

take notes you may use it in a story one day. :) It is a for real script.

Ha yes... although, I'm not much of a fiction writer!

Funny how a person can get side-tracked in this world. The conversation of others strike one's attention and the afterwards the work has to be rushed, or dropped. I often wonder what the purpose of my eavesdropping was, especially as the subject had no meaning in my life!
Blessings!

Side tracking is always a lot more interesting than the topic at hand.... I think it is the allure of a half gleaned conversation, the incomplete information that it is so enticing!

Hahaha I think that we are all inquisitive beings!
Blessings!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @bengy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.502 which ranks you at #2065 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 2073).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 214 contributions, your post is ranked at #61.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75