So Excited, Captain Marvel tomorrow!!!!!

in #life5 years ago


Unsplash

So, about one month ago to the day... I bought a movie ticket to see Captain Marvel on my day off when the kids were otherwise occupied with learning stuff at school or daycare! Sadly... I didn't realise that the movie wasn't out yet... and that I had bought a ticket for tomorrow (one month ahead of time...)!

As a parent, I tend to see movies about 3 months behind everyone else... so I'm just spending lots of time avoiding spoilers and all the internet gossip and talk about the movie. Or maybe, I'll not even see at the movies... but perhaps a year or more later on a long haul plane trip.

However, due to my extreme screw up last month... I am going to be one of the first to see this movie! I think I can get used to this! I was happy that I hadn't thrown away my ticket accidentally in the preceding months... it was still safe and sound in the part of my wallet that I had stashed it away in!

I know there has been quite a bit of controversy with some comments that Brie Larsons had made... and then the crazy overreaction with the Rotten Tomatoes review bombing and the subsequent handling of that (and the screams of censorship...). My personal opinion is that people in this day and age can go completely crazy about the slightest thing... without reading any context or anything like that. So, no big surprises... I just wish people would engage their brains before typing and letting the world know their opinions...

... as for the Rotten Tomatoes... well, it is a review site... it doesn't make sense to review bomb something just because you haven't watched it and you have some non-movie opinion. Go to Facebook for that sort of thing... Me, I'm watching the movie tomorrow and I'm going to enjoy going to watch a movie that I've looked forward to seeing! Everyone else can go tilt at windmills and straw men as much as they like... whatever makes you feel like a big person on the internet...



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman



steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Story line is what makes a movie, today critics are all about effects.

Never read what others say, we all process something differently, so have fun and enjoy the movie @bengy

Ha, Yes true! The controversy here was that some people violently disagreed with something lead actress said about gender equality... So they bombed the user reviews before the movie was released!

Not fair, each has their own opinion.

Flip side, not knowing the story people behind reviews bombing the movie due to an opinion of an actress, media blows everything out of proportion today on both sides, bad review and being PC all the time.

I am happy for both sides to have a perception, but it doesn't have anything to do with the movie! So, I am happy if they make their point on Facebook or something like that... But I think it is not right to be review bombing a movie that hasn't been released (which they could not have watched!).

My issue was that they were using the wrong platform to air their views... In a manner that could not possibly be due to the movie itself (because it hadn't been released), on this point, I don't think there is a subjective question.

I think that to have an opinion on a movie, book or game... The least you can do is to read, watch or play the game before writing a review.

Should be good. I hope to make it on Saturday.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hope you managed! And that you enjoyed it!

Lucky. I am probably going to have to wait a week or two to watch it because it is so busy.
You are right I don't like when politics or social arguements enters a movie, especially if it isn't about that. If it looks awful I won't watch it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't think that social commentary was in this movie... Well, not overtly. However, that said, there is always social /political commentary of some sort... You just don't notice if it is what you are used to!

Now I want to see it too!

Thanks for the heads-up.

Namaste, JaiChai

Definitely worth it if you ask me!

I have just watched the trailer and it seems interesting, good for you for not loosing that ticket lol :D As for reviews, I never give them much credit, I have seen movies that I adore get bad ones and those that I think are sh** get good ones so I stopped reading the reviews lol because the world does not make sense any more :D

The problem here was that some people had issues with what the lead actress said about equality of pay or something like that! That made them go ballistic, and review bomb the movie before it was released...

I am excited for this movie. We are planning to go this weekend but haven’t bought tickets yet!!!

I'll drop all the spoilers in the #ssg Discord... you should do what I do and buy a ticket by accident a month before! #fail

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87