Wednesday, (oh crap, I had to work!). Ulog #8

in #life6 years ago (edited)


I guess, in what is becoming a bit of an unwelcome (and welcome) habit... I find myself on the floor of the toddler's room, passing the time by writing a Ulog whilst the waiting for unconsciousness to hit the little girl. MY wife has started to call my blog, a dear diary blog... haha, when I'm away on tour, I get to write about more high-minded things like music and governance... but when I'm at home, it is going to generally be a day's recap! Bloody kids are exhausting!

Anyway, this is a blog about my Wednesday today, a day where we don't have school at our school, and next year they only have half a day!

The Morning


The morning started with a mission. Find presents for a few upcoming birthday parties, and so my wife suggested going to Avonturia to find some more unusual gifts instead of the toy store chain. Avonturia (I will write more about it some other day) is this incredible pet store in The Hague. However, in addition to the store part, there is lots and lots of animals in enclosures or just roaming free in a large space.



In addition, there is a large area in the back (which is paid entry, which we didn't do today) where you can pan for gold, or do treasure hunts or heaps of fun kiddie things! This is a really popular place for parties, and on weekends and Wednesday afternoons, it can be pure chaos! Lucky we came in the morning.

Today, we did stop to look at heaps of things (mostly because it was my first time!) even though the girls had been here quite a few times already.

IMG_20180704_111332.jpg

It was a great way to spend the morning, and we did accomplish our mission... although in the end it was a bit much for some!



Midday


Well, before lunch we had time to do gardening and attach our new bike bells to our bikes. Things go much easier and quicker when the toddler is asleep!

A few days ago, we had picked up some new plants (mostly ground cover and herbs) for our garden. They've been sitting in place ready to plant, and so while I was doing the hedge, the two older girls set to work digging holes and planting.


It was also the first time that I let our oldest play with the power tools (well, nothing too serious, just a powered drill/screwdriver). She is pretty good with the hand-powered versions of the screwdriver, which is handy when I need a second pair of hands that are small enough to get into tight spaces in electronics! Now, I'll be able to send her off with this tool and a pile of flat pack IKEA furniture and come back a few hours later to an assembled bookcase.


... and here are our attached bells! The one next to the baby seat is going to get some serious action whilst we are riding....



We finished in time for lunch, which was some leftovers from a barbecue the other day. Some middle eastern Kofte was the star attraction, along with a quick pesto pasta with a side of Irish apple cider. A really perfect lunch for a warm day!


Oh crap!

So, after an eventful morning/midday... with the warmth of the sun and a nice meal/cider in my belly, I was ready to lie down and have a little afternoon snooze. Which I started to do... when all of a sudden.

Don't you have to work today?

...says my wife!

Oh crap! The rest of the day is a blur, racing off to work. Today was a recording, and getting that out of the way and completed with minimal fuss, before racing home to play babysitter whilst my wife went to work!


...and so my day ends here, finishing this Ulog... and wondering if I can make lightning in this bottle.





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones

LEAVE THIS PART AS IS



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/07/04/wednesday-oh-crap-i-had-to-work-ulog-8/

Sort:  

Hey, @bengy! Loved your post (your humor)....and yes, having children is exhausting :) You're a great parent.

Lightning in a bottle.....hmmmm ;)

Ha ha, if it works... But nature is being uncooperative! The air is not dry enough.

I love the pictures of the kids especially. That's why actors don't like to perform with kids or dogs--they steal the scene because they steal our hearts. You'll remember the birthday party and the sleeping baby years later, when the rest of it will be in the dustpan of memory.
Looks like you enjoy your family. Smart man.

Ah yes, having the kids around is great! And they are generally such good kids too! Although, the photos are always of the best of times! I also have a photo of two of some on the floor crank outs!

If I am not mistaken this is the second time you forgot about work LOL
Nice family day and the second bell was great hope the little bear turns

Ha ha, Yes it has been the second time this week! This project only needs me for a couple hours in the late afternoon, so it is really easy to forget!

Aww Bengy. Such a wonderful "Dear diary" hehe.
I dont know whats cuter.. Your daughter using power tools or you driving a bike with a disney princess bell. 😀
Hehe. Lovely ulog. You have a beautiful family.

Heh, my daughter's bike has the Princess! I have a mean looking bear!

Ha ha, when did you photograph me?

Universal energy dispersion - it's a wonderful thing, no?

Namaste, JaiChai

Yes, when you can harness it... Unfortunately, the air is too humid to make it work...

Thnaks for sharing your day that shop you went to is pretty special I would find myself making excuses to go there LOL

It is pretty cool! Even as an adult, if it were much closer I would be there quite often! However, I just found out there is a reptile zoo just round the corner from us.

nice one. You and your wife obviously have a lot of fun while playing parents.

It was nice to read about your day.

How did the recording go?

Yes, most days it can be fun being parents, other days, a little less so!

The recording seemed to go good, no casualties at least! And the dynamic remained positive, recordings have a way of sometimes bringing out the worst in musicians, luckily not this time! Now it is in the hands of the engineer.

no doubts @bengy spending time with your family is the best thing one can do trully magnificient

Definitely! That's why I keep forgetting that I'm supposed to go to work as well...

i am follow you @bengy

You got voted by @votefun thanks to Bengy (also musicapoetica). We are still in early alpha, users can use us to get free upvotes. This is mainly directed towards users of the @cryptowithincin bot. We are in a few discord servers. To get full benefits, you have to be subscribed to @cryptowithincin. To support us, you can delegate to @votefun or just give this comment a upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09