Golden Sunset After The Rain Moved On - January 4th 2019

in #life5 years ago

DJI_0347.jpg

Storms that seem to be traveling through our area on pretty regular intervals are of all the same style it seems.. a low pressure system of decent intensity bringing heavy rains followed by frigid temps and windy conditions. Sure, that's a very general summation of the conditions we have been experiencing here, on consistent intervals of about 5-6 days..

And that onset of frigid air comes with a nice crisp clean atmosphere with minimal clouds to obscure the Sun in its glory as it sets below the horizon.

Settlement on the new location is only a few days away now, and our nerves are flexing for sure. Percolation test results should be known by Monday. I always pray.

I would love to be able to design a home to withstand a future unknown. Where climate regularity is a thing of the past, and we are learning, in the frontiers of science, that our planet's climate is and always has been changing, and that our future could perhaps be a daunting adventure of cold weather extremes and viscous volcanic activity. I am thankful and grateful to not be located directly near volcanoes or the ocean, but volcanism still effects us all by cooling climate.

DJI_0342.jpg

DJI_0345.jpg

DJI_0343.jpg

Growing our own food will be more than a hobby when grocery stores and the modern convenience of food security in high density populated areas doesn't exist anymore. I take note of the environment around me, on a local and global scale and notice the reduction in food production as a species. Time for us all to begin a garden, if I would be so direct. But I can't and won't force anyone into it.. just encourage. I feel the need to do this, to learn how to be an efficient, self reliant individual so that when the times does come.. we as a family are ready.

DJI_0346.jpg

DJI_0348.jpg

DJI_0353.jpg

Checking out the new land and the neighbors land.. filled with black rubber tires. Not sure what for but perhaps I would be able to use some of those for whatever strange things I can think of later on in life... if all works out with settlement.

DJI_0354.jpg

DJI_0355.jpg

I will certainly need to keep a watchful eye on my son at all times when over at the lot working on cleaning it up and getting ready to build. Many predators also lurk in these types of wooded settings that have been abandoned for decades.. the first time we visited the land we were spooked by a large cat of some kind, I would venture to say a lttle lynx. But the cat bolted out from under where I was standing, on what might have been a wall or something, and spooked the hell out of us, and I am sure thankful it didn't decide to turn on little ole @kelsnm and tear her up..

I am taking measures to prevent that.. for those inquiring minds.

DJI_0357.jpg

This would be the view from above my potential new home. A dream has taken shape with a vision. Many more steps ahead as always.. but persistence is key. Persist on I will, with my love @kelsnm. I am always grateful for everything life has given me. And I pray to Heavenly Father for the future.

Cheers to all!

EVAP Logo solo version 1.png

Sort:  

It looks like you have a great plan and I must say that I envy you the view from your future home :) I agree with you that it's time to become self sufficient and stop destroying our planet with overproduction and waste.

I hope you will be able to build your dream soon!

I like how you edited the photo. The warm light makes the land look even more beautiful than it actually is :) It's a beautiful place to live and you are lucky that it will become your home :)

Thank you for sharing!

Thank you for a wonderful comment.

The tires you can stack and grow potatoes in. Takes up little space and produces a good crop.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thats a great idea! Among all the other plants to grow right?!

Might look kind of neat too.

It works well and does not take up much space

Posted using Partiko iOS

great aerial pictures, it is spectacular how the lights and shadows draw an alive painting changing the landsape, every new minute is a completely different show

Hi biffybirdcam,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hi @biffybirdcam!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.845 which ranks you at #11996 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 8 places in the last three days (old rank 11988).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 251 contributions, your post is ranked at #12.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

First of all, all these images are breathtaking. Not only the composition, but the angle, the light and all those color contrasts. Just amazing.
No 4 was my favorite.
I agree "it's time to start a garden". Unfortunately not everyone has access to good land or resources to make not-so-good land into ferlite soil.
It's a scary reality that we may end up depleting our natural resources sooner than we expect.
You have quite a beautiful vision right there.
My best wishes for that dream to materialize.

Thank you for an excellent comment!

I agree with your views and thus why I state how grateful I am to have been blessed with this opportunity. I will not squander this..

I bet you won't.
In venezuela the government even created a charade of a ministry of urban agriculture. It lasted for about 3 months. the idea might have been a great one, had it been conceived to really raise awareness of the need to produce more healthy food, but as anything that is done with political purposes, it was doomed to fail.

Most venezuelan high schools, for instance lack parking lots or sports facilities. All those lots were left abandoned. They could be used, in any case for agricultural purposes, if they seriously conceived the idea of urban agriculture as a need and possibility.

In the mean time, most of our fertile lands are under-used and most of our labor is gone to other countries. We now import products that we exported 20 years ago (coffee, sugar, beans...)

That’s why my underlying philosophy is keep corrupt political snakes out of the water.

All for money and control. Never to actually help us the common man.

Yep. Better safe than sorry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80