Using Nature to Sustain Life

in #life5 years ago

IMG_0291.jpg

Two Spring seasons in and this little puddle has become a small little ecosystem in the back yard. I captured the natural runoff from the artificial terrain of the pool deck that flows down this path, and am now utilizing it to sustain some fish for viewing. And apparently, it has worked out so well, and that nature has taken a liking to my design, that I appear to have some renegade residents taking home in the puddle.

I was initially a bit in awe as I discovered the fish had survived the first Winter and the freezing temperatures. But now I am realizing this little habitat I have created is something unique and is proliferating life. How little projects evolve into what they end up being... always intriguing.

IMG_0298.jpg

Mr. Gnome keeps watch over the fish at night. He has a magical ability of protection to ward off flying beasts that would dare snatch my bright orange scaly swimmers.

IMG_0288.jpg

IMG_0289.jpg

IMG_0290.jpg

IMG_0292.jpg

To prevent excessive sediment transportation and to give the drainage path some stability, I slowed the flow of the rushing water with a stone dam and reinforced the last knick point with brick and created a transport tube over the knick point to further boost the longevity of the mud drainage path.

IMG_0293.jpg

IMG_0295.jpg

IMG_0296.jpg

The sound of flowing water over top some rocks is a relaxation inducing sound.

IMG_0302.jpg

As i mentioned above, we have guests taking residency at the puddle now.. as this would be the second separate day of spotting a baby box turtle like such. There is a much larger pond nearby, but that is awfully far for a tiny turtle to be crawling for food or whatever it wants..

I believe it has found itself a home with my puddle. Now start eating the bugs little turtle.

IMG_0305.jpg

IMG_0306.jpg

IMG_0307.jpg

As always, I pray to Heavenly Father. Take care!

Sort:  

Looks great your pond seems to be a big hit with the area wildlife.

Looks great your pond seems
To be a big hit with the
Area wildlife.

                 - ericburgoyne


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

How very impressive @biffybirdcam, using Mother Nature so well. I love the little turtle.

Turtles are such cute little critters! I hope yours thrive and eat lots of bugs.

Hi @biffybirdcam!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.307 which ranks you at #7633 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 272 places in the last three days (old rank 7905).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 158 contributions, your post is ranked at #102.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73