I'm a drug addict, not what you expected? Fuck what you think.

in #life5 years ago

Most people see drug addicts as the homeless people sleeping in gutters or some junkie hanging out in an alleyway, thing is, most aren't.
Most of the time you wouldn't even be able to point an addict out if you worked with them, let alone a stranger in the street.

Hi, I'm Chris, I'm 27 and I'm a drug addict

Okay so my "drug" of choice/addiction is weed. A lot of people say weed isn't addictive, especially when they're arguing for its legalization. It may not be "addictive" physically but it can be incredibly psychologically addictive and habit forming. If I don't smoke I experience withdrawals, I can't sleep, I can't eat and I feel physically shit.
I smoke over an ounce a week, I wake up and get high before work, I even take it with me and get high at lunch. I spend my days off high and if you meet me I will be high.

Yet I am a productive member of society, I have a fulltime job, I pay tax, I help run a wildlife rescue in my spare time and I'm active on Steemit. I'm not lazy, I'm not some stoned cunt sitting at home all day eating chips watching netflix, How could I be? You know how expensive that is? I need a job just to BE a drug addict so this misguided idea that most addicts are nothing more than a drain on society is foolish at best.

How does it affect you?

It doesn't, simple.

What about harder drugs like meth and heroin?

What about them? same thing. Every meth addict I know has a job, every drug taker I know bar a small percentage are contributing members of society, they just choose to take a substance as well.

Drugs are expensive for one and if every addict was stealing/robbing to support their habit the crime rate would be much higher.
Drug addicts are no different to people who don't take drugs. They aren't inherently bad people, they aren't going to suddenly stab you and run off with your wallet, They're people.

Maybe you think my experience with weed can't compare, however years ago now I was addicted to opiods, It was horrible but guess what, I didn't steal from anyone, I never hurt anyone because I was high, I was no different to when I was sober.

Drug addicts need support, not condemnation. No one thinks less of the guy who drinks 20 beers a night but god forbid they take something "illegal"

I'm a drug addict, I accept the stigma and I embrace it, Think what you want about me. Look in the mirror before you judge.

Sort:  

No judgement here, more on the order of respect. An ounce a week! Holy cow...

I also want to point out the fact that cannabis is becoming more socially accepted. So as long as you're happy and are happy what you do in your life. I see less and less people negatively judging this type of behavior.

And who knows, in the future you could be one of the greatest cannabis sommeliers to grace this fine planet.

Thanks for sharing!
@massmedicinals

Yea It definitely has, especially in the last few years. Even my supervisor at work has no problem with it so long as I do my job which I think seems fair.

Haha Oh I doubt it, id just be happy to not be risking a criminal record for it at this point.

appreciate the reply :)

I have a strong belief that as long as your actions and practices do not negatively impact the lives of others. It is none of their concern, or business to be throwing shade at you and your life choices.

I really enjoyed this post and the comments from other steemians!

Enjoy you man!

the stigma is strong when it comes to drugs.... what you are outlining is functional drug addicts. there are far more functional drug addicts than dysfunctional, just think about all the peeps that need "legal meds" to get by in life...

but if we get into the crux of the situation, lets look at the definition of what a drug is.

Drug - a medicine or other substance which has a physiological effect when ingested or otherwise introduced into the body.

Now.... lets look at WHAT has a physiological effect on the body when ingested or introduced into the body ;) Then we have the realization that almost EVERYTHING we put into our bodies can be classed as a drug...

Well yea exactly, I got drugged up this morning having my coffee but no one ever thinks of it like that. caffeine and sugar are probably the 2 biggest but for some reason people dont consider them a "drug".

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @clayboyn and has been upvoted and will be featured in the weekly philosophy curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

I feel you dude. I was living the same way for about 10 years. It's funny how People let "the law" tell them what their morals should be and what is acceptable behavior instead of thinking for themselves.

I still toke occasionally and love the plant, but I found that my lungs and throat were not happy and got worse with time. Also smoking all the time made me antisocial which was interfering with my life. All things in moderation maybe. Good luck.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really wish the U.S. would start offering support to addicts rather than locking them up. I'm addicted to cannabis as well as nicotine but while I would almost definitely spend my last dollar on weed rather than nicotine, I can make it through the day much easier without cannabis than I can without nicotine. Cannabis is a powerful medicine and is completely non-toxic! It's the best drug you can be addicted to in my opinion.

I agree, I would spend my money on weed but I would struggle much harder without cigarettes.
The U.S is notoriously bad with their whole "War on drugs" but at least the situation seems to be getting better there, at least in places. Australia is still debating medicinal use, while it is available you wouldnt believe the loopholes you have to jump through for it.

Weed is 10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000x

better than the shit like opiates pharmaceutical companies pay doctors to prescribe.

The good news is the stigma is slowly going away for cannabis! I was an ounce a week guy for a long time too, it’s the sweet spot

Respect to you for your honesty !

An Oz a week on your own !! That is hardcore.

Like you said, Cannabis isn't physically addictive but I know people who turn into really miserable and intolerant bastards with their partners and children if they do not have it due to the psychological addiction. I suspect that they are smoking cannabis to make themselves feel better about themselves rather than deal with the issues that make them miserable without it. It doesn't sound to me like you have this problem but the fact you experience withdrawal symptoms from a drug that supposedly isn't addictive is something more young people should be aware of. Cannabis has the power to heal the body and mind but if abused I believe it can cause damage to people and society.

I'm not preaching by the way. I smoke weed too and some mornings, if I could get away with smoking before work, I would.

Im definetly using it to mask deeper issues but It's also been better for me than other drugs they tried, I plan to quit at some point but I agree, more young people need to be aware that it can be habit forming and harmful, and I think older people need to be aware that just because you smoke pot or do drugs doesn't mean you're a bad person or a drain on society.

The only real problem with weed is that people are too emotional and illogical about it, either very for or very against. Those for it ignore the dangers, those against it ignore the positives. Just need to weigh it up in individual circumstances, like every medication.

appreciate the comment :)

I’m not saying every drug addict is inherently bad, but not every drug addict starts in the gutter.

Some still end up there, because when you’re on the bad shit it’s you vs. the world. The world doesn’t have a lot of sympathy and most drug addicts are self centered.

True, but then again not everyone in the gutter is a drug addict either, and I know plenty of self centered fuckers who dont take drugs either :P

Word. I’m not down playing your opinion either.

I used to have a drinking problem. I know the mental state first hand. I also have had a ton of friends over dose. I know the low road and the high road of the spectrum.

I hear ya and on an oz a week too. When i tell people i have a serious pot problem they tend not to believe me. The thing is, i would like to give up, but after 25 year doing the same it feels impossible

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea it seems people don't take the "addiction" of weed seriously. I have given up a couple of times over the last decade but I always end up coming back. It's the psychological battle that is hardest and I find it difficult to convince myself weed is bad enough to not touch it again.

I wish you luck if you choose to try :)

Thank for this. I myself also was addicted to opiates, and Meth. Shit is not easy once you get hooked, and yes I had a full time job supporting my habit.

The worst part is so many of the people that do get hooked got that way from prescription meds, something people tend to ignore when they think of an addict, could only be illicit drugs right?
Hope you are past it now and thriving :)

Yeah I started off with Norco, then got tired of waiting for the 1st of the month, and people being flaky. With the illicit stuff, there always serving. Yeah been clean off meth since 2012, been about 2 years since black tar, but ive relapsed with Norco a few times. But overall, yeah im doing great. Its so nice not being dope sick every other damn day.

That's awesome man. If you're ever looking for some support or feeling like its a weak day there is a recovery/addiction support room in the PAL Discord that has good people to talk to :)

thanks man. Glad to here your off that stuff too. Ill have to check out that room

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72