Interesting News About My Grandfather

in #life5 years ago (edited)

04bm69qa6a.jpg
Above is a photo of my grandfather and my grandmother that hangs on the wall in my parents house. Little is known about my grandfather who died in 1942 when my dad was only 2 years of age. We knew he was in the army but we did not know much more. He was away alot and he and my grandmother were not married. They kept that quiet because there were 6 children and that was not a thing to do back then. When he died my grandmother had to raise all 6 kids on her own which is a tough feat. She borrowed a jacket for the photo above because she didn't have a penny.

My father is now 79 years old and he received some news from his nephew Trevor who was in the Irish army. He is into looking up the family tree's and time-lines. His son has just joined the 2nd Royal Irish battalion in the British army. He was amazed to see the photo of my grandmother and grandfather and was extremely interested in his flash symbols on his army uniform. He then started digging and looking up records on the net. He also asked a couple of army experts about the symbols on his arm. His answer back was that one of the symbols was mortar fire trained.
bz8loig5sw.jpg

So he spent weeks looking through the war records of the Royal Irish Regiment. And he finally came across the man himself.
riutrvztu6.jpg

5th line from the bottom. 14th July 1916. Richard Blanche. Shot in the arm during the battle of Bazentin Ridge which was an important battle in the battle of the Somme. His army took the village that day but at great cost.
The battle of the Somme was one of human histories most bloodiest battles. 1 million died between 1st July to 18th November of 1916. Trench warfare. It must of been horrifying. He was only 19 years old.
We knew his two brothers dies at the Somme in Belgium but we were not aware my grandfather was there also. It has come as a surprise for us because he never mentioned it to my grandmother. It must of been a bad experience for him to keep that quiet.
Over the years as my father has got older , he heard stories about his dad. Some good and some bad and he just didn't know what to believe. Not so long ago one of our relations said he wasn't in the army at all and he was a bit of a charlatan. But hearing this has definitely put some of the not so good stories to rest with this news. My father is a bit shocked with the news and it proves to him that his dad was actually in the thick of things in World War I. I will be looking more into these details in the coming weeks to learn more about the battle of Bazentin Ridge but I find it really interesting to learn more about it. He came back from the war in one piece. I will keep you updated with any more news . Now I know why I never really liked Belgium!

Sort:  

@camillesteemer is a half-wit with an IQ approaching 50 on a good day, that's why you got flagged. I get it all the time, as well as many others. 'It' has little VP so don't let it bother you.

Thanks for the heads up. I will consider it a badge of honour from this day forth.

You have been recognised as someone who produces good stuff, congratulations!

The great thing is that UK has so many archives where you can dig up a lot of information, hopefully you'll find out more

Yeah you are right. They were good keeping records . We should of went about this a long time ago but it is all digital now so it’s much easier! 😀

Heeee @blanchy how are you,
Great to see you sharing the steemitfamilytree history.
And the pictures are beautiful. Searching for historic facts Made me wonder i need to do that new inheritage kit and let reseach where my grandfathers father and his family are from, i saw that the opportunity on tv, maybe i Will and i will blog about it.

Hey @brittandjosie. You never know . You may have a bit of Irish in you! 😀😀

whoa sir blanchy! that is amazing and wonderful news that ya'll found out. One million men??? that is staggering. What a hellish nightmare. Makes my stories look like child's play. Very intriguing post sir blanchy!

Yeah World War I was awful. Especially in the trenches. Yeah 1 million people died at the battle of the Somme. The young Irish and British soldiers thought they were going on an adventure . Nothing could of been further from the truth. He survived it though. Us Blanche’s are crafty buggers. He would of seen the death toll and shot himself to get home. That’s what I would of done!

haha! sir blanchy! yes I agree. I mean, most people didn't even know what they were there for, that war made no sense!
WWII was a different story but the first one? that was just madness. I would have shot myself too.

War is one of the most interesting parts of genealogy. The best research is always with the most drama, which is unfortunate for the ancestor, but good for the researcher.

We have a mystery of illegitimacy in our family as well. My grandmother was illegitimate and took the secret of her father to her grave. Our ancestors should really be more considerate to future generations ;)

Ooooo I wonder who he was?? Family probably living in the Hamptons now. Wonder why the grandmother kept quiet.

My great grandmother was a bit naive and a poor English immigrant, so I have an image of my great grandfather being a grimy immoral factory worker with a few missing teeth and a very abrasive accent. I could be wrong though😅

I asbestos thinking more of the factory owner that couldn’t reveal the affair or he would have to leave the family inheritance . A titantic sort of affair but the other way around! 😂😂

Lol! I like that. Maybe I will rewrite my assumption ;)

What a story! I'm glad your dad got to find out about this. It means a lot to him probably.

Yeah he is delighted to hear some of his history.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @blanchy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.754 which ranks you at #5078 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 186 contributions, your post is ranked at #84.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @blanchy!

You just got a 28.7% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66