A Taste of Freedom.. Shutdown!

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Today I received news that the exit I wanted to take from work is shut down. I have mixed emotions about this situation, but I can say I seen this coming.

I work for a big box retail store here in the great old country of the U.S.A. I have been doing so for the last 13 years. During my time there I moved up, and also go to a few different salary positions and went through a lot of changes with the with the company. I've delt with crazy situations, crazy customers, have my life threatened, worked crazy schedules and many other things I can't recall at the moment lol. I've done a lot. Yeah it's a glorious place to call your job. 🙄

A few weeks ago I got news that they are doing away with the overnight positions, and we are losing 2 salary positions. That's when the magical word severence was being passed around. Usually you would fear on what was going to happen and if you will still have a position. I was actually excited for the first time in a long while. I would get a chunk of my salary and for the first time in 13 years the holiday season off! ( Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years). I planned on vacations, steemfest, and spending more time with family with this potential free time I would get. I was happy with the fact that I could do all this. I was hoping that this was the sign to exit the place I've been wanting to leave for a long time now. So I went ahead and told my store manager that I would volunteer and take the severance.

Over the last few weeks it was a roller coaster ride of emotions. I talked to my old boss about it, he kind of told me the realistic answer about not getting the severence. Add to the fact ( not to toot my own horn ) but I am one of the effective managers in my store. So then I kind of gave my hopes up for it after assessing the situations, but I kept getting mixed messages about the severence package. This morning I officially got the news that I would not be able to get it due to some bull shit excuse they made up about salary positions. So here I am sucked back into the machine. I cant help but to think that these moves are not to make the stores better, but it's to satisfy the share holders to cut down on costs and stuff their pockets with more $$$.

The bright side of all this is that, this bump on the road showed me that I was really unhappy in my situation and that it's on me to make the changes possible in life. I will slave away what I hope to be my last holiday season, and start my new journey in the new year.

While looking for job/career opportunities 2 weeks ago, I ran into an awesome quote on an old forum post that gave me inspiration.

"One of the things I learned very late in life was never be good at anything you do not like doing; so you might be a good programmer and hate math, but I do not see the point of doing it in that case. have spent 10 years undoing being good at things hate doing; but people eventually do stop asking you to do them"

This reminded me life is limited here on earth, I need to ensure I enjoy this journey we call life. We need to do things that make us happy. Yes I know a job is a job, but I cant help but to feel that society really messed up and the work//life balance is really tipped against our favor.

So I sit here at 31 years old, ready to move on and make the changes I need in life to be happier. It may not be the way I wanted to do it, but it's still a move I will need to make and need to do.

/venting over :p

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

New doors will open!

I once read this story (true story!) about this guy that ended up in hospital for a few weeks. While he was recovering, he didn't have much to do so he watched TV a lot. Then one day this 'Yes-Man' kinda guy came on and said that if you'd want to be happy with a career, you should look at what made you happy as a child and turn that into a career. He thought about it and realized that as a kid, nothing made him happier than hanging out with dogs. So even while he was in hospital, he already designed uniforms and started marketing his new business.
He already had customers for his dog-walking service before he was discharged and now runs a professional dog-walking business with staff.

In my case, I started to wonder if building tree houses could be turned into a career LOL. But there was one thing that I LOVED as a child (other than tree houses) and still do: Crystals. So I actually did that for a while and did quite well (in Vegas too!). And even though I don't buy and sell them right now, I am always on the lookout for a great deal. My new thing that I LOVE: travel as a career...now that's my new goal ;) Won't be seeing me as a stewardess though LOL.

I wish you all the best on your search and journey, and I'm sure that the right thing will just fall into your lap if you let it. Create your own perfect life!!!

Yeah, that's what I want to start looking for into the new year. Be my own boss maybe. But thanks for sharing that story and for the kind words ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Big life changes aren't always welcome, but it is a new chapter and hopefully it will be a good one!

Change is what makes for new experiences in life :) and thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @blank7! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @blewitt.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Hi @blank7, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @priyanarc!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON


Congratulations @blank7!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09