HAPPY?

in #life5 years ago

Desi Perkins, I like her. Not a fan, but I like her. 4 months back I didn't even know she existed; but I got introduced to her through my girlfriend. My girl is a fan of Desi's makeup scene; me on the other hand, I love success.
Through Desi we found a common interest, my gf enjoyed the makeup, I enjoyed the success Desi found through makeup.

Today, Desi, a successful makeup artist in LA, uploaded her vacation vlog to South Africa on youtube. A long 50 minute vlog that my girlfriend and I watched very keenly, both with different interests. Desi mentioned something very interesting that stuck to my head like glue, which is one of the two reasons that made me want to vent here. To Desi the vacation to S.A. was an escape from the rushy busy life inside the concrete jungle. It was a reset button for her soul, mind and body. A very interesting way to look at it.

I looked around myself, I could in fact in a concrete jungle looking for a reset button myself.

Fast forward a few hours...
My girl and I went for a late night walk just to catch some fresh air and landed in between a snowy tantrum yet cozy land of regret. I had seen the snow covered lands so many times and the constant slap of snow on my face had by now become one of the most annoying feelings in the world... to me. I WAS NOT HAPPY. My girlfriend absolutely loved it. She played with the snow, opened her mouth to taste the snow, she drew funny faces on the snow... SHE LOVED IT. This is her first time experiencing this, and she loved it, and I loved that.

I had the biggest epiphany at that very moment. I had forgotten how exciting the snow was, I had forgotten the excitement nature's magic held, I had forgotten to enjoy it, I had forgotten how beautiful it was, I had forgotten how in love I once was with snow.

Desi's words and my girlfriend's enthusiasm ran in circles like a hamster in my head, constantly and tirelessly, to the point I felt like I had broken a virtual wall inside my skull.

HAPPINESS- CONCEIVE IT OR I DON'T. I CONTROL MY HAPPINESS.

I had chosen to hate snow, I had chosen to bury my happiness with the excuse of labeling snow as annoying. Snow is beautiful, snow is AWESOME! SNOW IS HAPPINESS. When I put 2 and 2 together, I chose to deem myself trapped in a concrete jungle looking for a reset button, I chose to be unhappy by deeming snow as a buzzkill.
Let's think about that for a second.
Desi chose to escape from the busy concrete jungle to an actual jungle and find a reset button over there. But why? There are people who look for the same life she leads, just for a second, as they collect scrap from the trashcan. There are people who dream of digging their ankles in the snow on the daily like I do, just for a minute, as they drown in there own sweat from working under the scorching sun. This is not limited to them. There are people who were born in a cold climate country that wish to lead their life in a hot sweaty place. There are people who were born on the beach and want to live in the desert.there are people with blond hair who wish they were brunette, short people who want to be tall, thin people who want to be fat,blue eyed people who wish they had black.

It's absolutely mind-boggling!

I came to realize that the purest human character of becoming more and beyond has very timidly but surely turned into one of the biggest enemies of human kind itself.
We are not content with what we have.
Our constant habit of complaining and nagging has taken our happiness by the throat and mutilated it in a paper shredder.

Count your blessings. That's what momma used to say. Little did I know what she meant, then. But, now I do.
One man's trash is another man's treasure. I believe in that now. It makes me feel peaceful. It makes me feel happy knowing what I have, even if it is not close to what I want, is more than I need and more than most could even dream for.

As I walked back home I realized happiness is what I want it to be, happiness is how I wanted it to be. Happiness is subjective.
I can find happiness wherever and however I want. I am happy in the snow,I am happy in the concrete jungle, and if I wanted I could choose to be happy by escaping to S.A. and look for a reset button over there.
BUT I CHOOSE TO BE HAPPY HOWEVER AND WHEREVER I WANT, and nobody can take that from me.

Huge shout out to Mike Posner who realised life is short and he is going to be happy on his own terms. "Coz he wants to". Click here for the feels


source

That's one more blind spot from Blind's pot.

Thanks to @bdcommunity for their unrivalled support. Show them love!
Thanks to @welcomewagon for taking the time to help newbies. Stop by and say hello!
@cranium has one of my most favorite blogs and discord community. Do Join and Support!

Sort:  

The grass is greener and all right...
It took me a long time to come to terms with just enjoying everything about the now.... the best I could
And through the bad, I start focusing on the good things I have... took me some time to get here... but here is good for now

That blind-spot and blind's pot is too cute... love it

Yes, snow is on my bucket list :)

through the bad, I start focusing on the good things I have

very well said! There always is the yin in the yan, a very important thing to always remember. Yes it takes time, but totally worth it!!!

Thank you <3

Creating your own happiness is the secret of life. This is such a good message, and it's great to remember it often! Thanks for presenting this in PYPT on the Ramble today, it was great hearing you talk about choosing to be happy. :)

Yes, it is! It's not that we aren't happy, it's just that there is so much more to be happy about.

Important concepts! I love your mind @blind-spot

so thankful to have you in my life!!! thanks for these reminders

(except you're right about the snow. snow is gross.) LOLOLOLOL

@dreemsteem dear i totally agree with you.... :P snow is gross.......

haha yes it is gross! But I used to love it once upon a time...and I think I need to realize it sometihing I can love again :P

I think your girl-friend is really lucky to have you in her life. They way you explained about being happy also made me realize that it's not necessary you have to search happiness, happiness is around you. Well, we close our eyes and couldn't see that...

Nice post..

sometimes eyes should be pried opened, sometimes it requires the right person to open eyes, sometimes someone is looking for someone to get their eyes opened

Congratulations @blind-spot! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

oh yeah baby! lets go for the next goal!

Hi @blind-spot, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity and the trail!

If you want to support us, please consider following our curation trail on Steemauto.com or delegating STEEM POWER to us.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

TY so much for supporting botman

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87