Making a difference.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

It wasn't a sunny day. Well, figuratively.
It was pretty sunny. One of the hottest, humid days that I can remember.
So hot that the coolest part of my body was my shadow who was shielding itself from the sun with my body.

Dubai, what a beautiful city. Truly the city of endless possibilities and a land of riches...if only you can survive the thousands fighting to win the same race. If only you can survive the deadly heat.

Sweat dripped from my face onto my worn out monk straps. The clanking of the metal on my shoes was starting to get to me. It had been such a long day at work that my belt buckle was stabbing into my abdomen and branding my skin through my clothes.

Clock's ticking.
I had to get to the next destination...fast!

I just landed a 2 year full-time job with Blackberry. If I could perform well, it would lead to another 3 year contract extension.
Maybe it was the sweat on my forehead, or my soaking shirt that convinced them. Maybe my red, exhausted eyes resonated my drive and motivation to work and prove myself.
Or maybe it was the fact that I convinced the interviewer to buy my worn out 50$ shoes for 250$. I was a hustler. I am a hustler. Give Blind a handful of sand and he would sell it to you as if it was gold.
What an interview that was!

I was exhilarated with the prospect of working with the big boys. Low work hours, big bucks.
I always believed that it wasn't the hard work we get paid for, but the rarity of the skill we honed. I was always proved right.

I was opening an online shop at the moment, one that was very similar to what Jeff Bezos did and later became the Amazon that we know of. I didn't care much about Bezos at the time, I was busy doing my own thing.

Clock's ticking.
Time was slipping, I had worked all day on my day job and spent the night on my computer putting things together. I hadn't slept a single bit, I had too much to do. Now, I finished with an interview and onto my next destination.

"Gah, I must have been super lucky that brain was awake during the interview. You da man, brain"

Clock's ticking.

My life was about to change, though. I was making a drastic change to my life. I had to go meet the man who would facilitate it. It was risky, a very risky change that I was about to make.

"I don't care. Life is about the leaps of faith. Too late to turn back now".

The roads are always packed, public transport is slow. Time to take off in foot. I was already on foot, though. I like it, my subconscious mind is sometimes way too ahead of my conscious self.

Clock's ticking.
"Will I make it in time?"

"So much going on right now...It is getting messy. Have I taken up too much? Am I doing more than I can?
Too late to turn back now." Maybe it was the scorching heat that was making everything blurry.

It was, indeed, a very risky leap of faith I was about to take. Not many could make it in this road. Not many ever see the end of this road. I have heard so much about it. I have seen so much of it.

An ongoing day job, an upcoming business, an upcoming new day job. My hands are full. I have more than I need. I am good.
"So why am I taking this leap?"

Clock's ticking.
Whatever happens, always happens for the better.

I made it in time. With the last bit of power I had I bolted in. I flung open the doors and the most dead eyes stared straight into my soul. "Come here" from the other end of the office.
Time was moving slow, I could feel the earth's rotation.
Clothes soaked in sweat. I was dripping as if I just took a dive into the ocean.

He put his hand forward...

There it was...the most dreadful moment of my life. If I shake that hand I would enter a realm that not many have survived to tell the tails of. A realm of unknown. A realm of uncertainty. A realm that could tear me apart...

I was profusely sweating, and it wasn't the Dubai heat.

I shook his hand and he pulled me towards him. He hugged me like a an infant would hug their teddy. I felt bad that I was ruining his custom stitched pinstripe suit, his red tie turning maroon.

He looked dead into my eyes while holding me by the shoulders,

"You can do it"

Those few words turned my world around. I was full of energy. I was motivated, again. Those words brought life into my body. I was filled with valor and purpose once again. I felt as confident as ever.I felt alive.

I do not know what he saw in me, and why he treated me that way. Maybe he saw a little bit of himself in young me.
Or at least I want to believe that he did. I look up to him, after all. Alas, It was the last I ever saw him.

Whenever I remember those words, I hear his voice. No matter how grim a situation is, no matter how tough it is, I remember those few words and I feel unstoppable again.

I left my day job, never took the Blackberry deal, sold my online business and took the leap of faith. Don't regret it.

His tiny, little gesture made a difference. A difference forever. A difference not many can make. A difference I will forever be grateful for.

wood-3190203_640.jpg

Pixabay

Thank you.


That's one more blind spot from Blind's pot.

Thanks @bdcommunity and @drisers for their unrivaled support. Show them love!
Thanks to @welcomewagon, @heyhaveyamet and #steemterminal for taking the time to help newbies. Stop by and say hello!
@cranium is awesome

x7L2VSNEiyAB5Ux7nxKmLo6yLyEJT6Jt5yhNCUpGMwsbur3EFjcEFsTFP4zmCqpHRmp4bGphXdJL6jf.gif

Thank you @sergiomendes for making this awesome gif!

Sort:  

Keep on hustling, great shoe deal 😋😂🤣
Wish you a wonderful day
Tom, greetings from Thailand 🇹🇭

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice!!
Peace.

Very cool. So, you got a job at Blackberry, ditched your job and never took the new one? How come?

Nice you made a choice you are proud of but where did you end up?

I am always so proud of you. You make me tired with all your hustle. I really need to channel you someday when you want to rest and I need the energy. Keep on keepin' on my sweet friend.
Ren

Hello.

In the test mode, the cryptoexchange was launched, where STEEM/SBD would be traded, and it is possible to input them into the Ukrainian hryvnia.

Currently it is possible at the level of user to perform transactions on the cryptoexchange and on the server in the Discord to write about their impressions.

There is a referral program on the exchange, and Steemit users, depending on their reputation on the platform, will be credited to the exchange tokens as a bonus.
If interested, join: https://discord.gg/WcDXgsN

Blind can I give you a hand full of sand that turned into silver please 😉
Great write
Britt

Hi @blind-spot, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity and the trail!

If you want to support us, please consider following our curation trail, setting us as your witness proxy, or delegating STEEM POWER to us.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23