Smile and wave!

in #life5 years ago (edited)

We always look for ways to overcome the shortcomings of life. Yes, life gives lemons, and not the kind we usually squeeze into lemonades, but the ones that get rubbed into our eyes. We fight, on the daily, to cut corners that pull us down and stop us from being the best of we can be.

This is about the change I made in my life years back that has allowed me to reach a potential, close to peak.

My life has been a mix of ups and downs, just like everyone else's. We tend to see our problems as heavier than anyone else's, and that is very normal. No one knows you better than yourself, no one knows how hurt the next person is better than that person itself.

There were a lot of things that put me in a dark place. I was never suicidal, never a person to give up. I always a person who wanted to excel, who wanted to become the best version of myself. This thirst of improvement has led me to through many adventures, learn many lessons, do many unprecedented things that just seem so alien in a normal life.
From learning multiple languages, learning about religions, learning about cultures, gaining knowledge about as many fields as I could, to even working 24 hour jobs for free! I do not regret a single experience, good or worse, since I always maintained a mentality that everything that happens always happens for good.

I have done and participated in as many things as possible, so much so that any sane person would say I deserved to demand a huge cheque for all the things I have done, but I never looked at things with a selfish or monetary perspective. I value money a lot, I'd love to cry in a rolls royce than on my mattress. But what use would a rolls royce be if I couldn't smile and be content with myself on my deathbed. Of what use would be this life if I couldn't be happy with myself.

It took time, but eventually I realized the fathers of philosophy were probably he most happy people, and the poorest. They never looked for a monetary gain in their work, but instead were happy the way they were and even spread their ideology with others. There is an exclusive feeling of freedom knowing that you are happy with yourself.

A lot of dark times transpired in my life. Life had pushed me down to my knees and although I was successful in many people's eyes, I wasn't happy with myself. I wasn't able to be the person and reach the peak potential I had.

What was stopping me? I have learnt a lot. I have done a lot. I can do so much more. I can gain so much more. I can be so much more. What was stopping me?


With success, came the hate and bigger challenges. Overtime, all the negative twists and evil of life was having a very overt reaction on me. I was hurt, with what was happening to me, directly and indirectly through what was happening around me. I physically started feeling the pain of my spirit. I could literally, physically feel the pain I was mentally feeling.

I was shackled down with sadness and hopelessness. I was being drowned in life's lemons. "The right hand man", "The get everything done man", "Mr. Confident", "The baller" was suddenly immobile...handicapped.

At that moment I had to make a change, or all that I had done for improving myself, all the work I put in for myself was on the verge of being wasted.

In that moment I decided to make my weakness my greatest strength.


My sadness and all the hate was taking a toll on me. At those times, being happy was a far fetched thought, even smiling was foreign... because I was hurt most of the times.
But I realized life is always going squeeze lemons in my eyes, and life is always going to face me with challenges. So, should I just sulk about it? Should I drown in my emotions and stop myself from reaching peak potential?

NO.


I made a decision that propelled me once again. I forced a smile on my face every time life tried to f*** me up. I forced a smile on my face every time things went south.

Eventually, fake it till you make it worked.


Today anytime anything goes south, I become happy. I have an automatic smile on my face. successfully tricked my brain into thinking the bad is good, the worse is for better, it is an opportunity to make things better and try again harder and smarter. I smile like an idiot nowadays, even at the worst moments, I am happy that things didn't go the way I thought it would.
For, when you are happy, your brain works well. Your brain functions strategically and properly. There is no way I can develop if I am depressed. I made the cause of my downfall, sadness, my weapon to success.
So,

Just smile and wave, boys, smile and wave. -Skipper, Madagascar

That's one more blind spot from Blind's pot.

Thanks to @bdcommunity for their unrivalled support. Show them love!
Thanks to @welcomewagon for taking the time to help newbies. Stop by and say hello!
@cranium has one of my most favorite blogs and discord community. Do Join and Support!

Sort:  

mindset is everything.. you certainly work on yours

Yes, I believe in the power of mindset. I work on it, at least I try to!
Thank you for stopping by <3

I love the smile you have. It is actually one of the things that help me get through the rough days right now. You always have an encouraging word foe me and it helps me find that "fake it til i make it" smile. Hugs little wagon brother.
Ren

and you so the same for me! From day 1 of knowing you and the little chat we had on discord you have become one of the key influencers in my life <3 thank you, i really appreciate you <3

Oh, you are just the sweetest. I am so happy to have met you as well.

It is really great to know the way that you have dealth the things in your life brother and yes many people when they go through tough times in their life at some point they tend to give up but you kept on going which is absolutely amazing and yeah learning from tough situations could really make us the person that we are today.

Hokolta badeu amra Sylhety , shokto to thura oitew oibo nani ;)

Agreed a 100% everybody faces a lot in life, but dealing with them is what makes us stronger!

olan khoile to sokto owa i lagbo :D

Congratulations @blind-spot! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

ORLY?
you are mistaken, though! Coz My next goal is 1million upvotes <3

Hi @blind-spot, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity and the trail!

If you want to support us, please consider following our curation trail on Steemauto.com or delegating STEEM POWER to us.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73