How Did I Come To Look Like A House (In My Mind)

in #life5 years ago (edited)

About life, about ages ... There is a time when we start thinking about the past. It comes unexpectedly and imperceptibly!

It doesn't happen when we are young, but by the age we begin to think more and more of the past. Maybe we are afraid of forgetting it.

Recently, since I'm a temporary resident of a new city, I'm more attracted to a house next to which I walk every day. At first I didn't realize why I was attracted to the old and degraded house.

I suddenly understood ... I think this house looks like me, metaphorically speaking.

zfmc429t5g.jpg

I'd like to ask you a question. Did you happen to identify yourself with other people, characters? To me, yes!

It has happened to me in my childhood when I identify myself with the main characters of all the books I read. I liked to imagine that I was the good and brave character. Later, in adolescence I chose the film characters. There were many but only one specially.

The main character in Blow-up. A fashion photographer. The film was made in the 1960s by Italian director Michelangelo Antonioni and the action takes place in London.


Source

The photographer in the movie fascinated me. That's why I started to learn about photography. I tried to imitate the way she was dressed: white jeans and velvet coat. It was a person who haunted me for many years.

With maturity I gave up this kind of likeness to other characters. The mature life and many obligations prevented the dream.

Aging changes our way of being. Old age is not a blessing. Whoever says old-age is beautiful isn't exactly right. It is said that the elders are beginning to think like children. That's not so bad, I like!

I think I'm getting closer to this stage of my life. So I don't know how it happened to think I'm like a house. Like this house.

ydxgq2oozk.jpg

A house that looks like it is old but it was beautiful in the past. Now, I don't mean by comparison that I was a nice man, I wanted to say just because I was young and youth is always beautiful.

Now I feel the same as this house. As you can see, the plaster degrades ... so does my skin. Time dig deep into our body...iron rust and bones ache!

imsl4a5mkp.jpg

h4k0g462z2.jpg

This big house, still with beautiful portions, has the power to stay right, but the first bigger earthquake will put it down. That's what's gonna happen to me.

Maybe this comparison seems to be forced, I just wanted to say that I'm getting older and I feel more and more this ...

For SAM, Something About Me every Saturday: #sam-saturday.

steemit-border
Posted using eSteem Surfer
steemit-border

Sort:  

What a unique and interesting inference! I certainly can relate to that, and what you said in the post.
Old age has it's good points too. We have 'been there, done that', and are wiser - hopefully. Gone were the angst of the younger years. The only bummer in old age is that our body falls apart when we are still young at heart. However, with some adjustments and the right attitude, we can still have a blast in our old age.
Have a great weekend. Cheers!

Thanks a lot for this wise comment. I totally agree with what you say.

Congratulations @bluemoon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 33000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Oh, so many? Thank you!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you, thank you!

You have made a very interesting comparison. The time is passing faster the older we get, but on the other hand we cannot turn the clock backward. We have to enjoy and love the life. Any day, every day.

You have an optimistic approach to aging. I am interested in this subject even though I do not feel much old enough.

I always consider myself an optimist and to look on the bright side of life. 😀

I'm happy for you! It's unusual this positive attitude in our area with more subtle melancholic influences that lead to pessimism.

Nostalgic... I like the comparison you do . Our body is like an edifice, and our soul without it, who knows where it goes?

Yes, it is. Thank you for understanding what I meant. Of course, nostalgic!

Hi, @bluemoon!

You just got a 0.07% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thank you very much!

You got a 12.05% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @bluemoon! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 16 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Thank you for support!

Alright...I'm 400 years old...😄

Ohhh! Many years from now on ...

indeed...I see you as a very young man signore Dan 😉

Thank you! You're the first to tell me that.

I love the character of that old house! There is so much depth and you can feel all the times, good and bad, that have gone past that it has stood through. I know we are the same age, and I hope old age treats us both gently!

I hope the same thing as you!

We can do this! 🧓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64804.67
ETH 3109.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27