9 Years in Perth - An adventure still in progress!

in #life6 years ago (edited)
Yesterday was the 9th anniversary of my family and I moving from South Africa to Perth, Western Australia. I have now lived almost a quarter of my life in Australia. How time flies!!!

It has been a huge adventure, and there have been so many ups and downs along the way. One thing it hasn't been is easy. But we've made it this far, and we're not stopping for anything. Australia is home.

There is always the missing family element, but then there is also the independence, and the "carve your own path" part of living so far away from your support system. I think the missing family part has been a lot harder on Mrs MJ than me, not because I don't miss my family, but because Mrs MJ has always had a strong support base with he Mum, brothers and sisters, which are no longer just up the road to go and visit. I'm a bit more independent. I have always been that way.

australia parachute.jpg

On the flip-side, Australia has given us a great adventure. We have been to a Red Bull air Race..
redbullairrace.jpg

We've been on some amazing holidays to some incredibly beautiful places in Australia.
beach.jpg

We even got to see the Springboks play rugby, and beat Australia in Perth; Our first ever internationl rugby match!!
rugby.jpg

We've also been to the AFL and gotten ourselves drenched!!

footy.jpg

And there have been some spectacular Arts and Culture events to go to.

diver.jpg

To top it off, we've been able to go back to South Africa on holiday 3 times, and had holiday experiences of a lifetime, with our families too!!



But there is one thing for sure: Whether we're in Australia, or in South Africa visiting family, we always feel at home!!

There is so much more to do and see, and I count myself truly lucky o be living in such a magnificent country. ( years feels like forever, but has gone in the blink of an eye.





Team Australia, Team South Africa, and The Alliance banners by @bearone

My Awesome Upboks by @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Perth has so many beautiful places to explore - but it’s also such an isolated city (I think it’s actually the most isolated city in the world isn’t it?). I lived there for a while and loved the place, but am really glad to have family around again now.

Most isolated capital city I think

I want to visit both Aus and SA one day, both so much warmer than Canada.

Both countries are worth a visit. I wouldn't mind touring Canada sometime too...

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77