No bus!! But that's alright! I'll just sit here and enjoy nature!

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Due to some industrial action being taken by the local bus drivers, I had to wait about 30 minutes extra at my stop, instead of the usual few minutes. It looks like the bus company only had enough drivers to cover 1 out of every 3 or 4 buses in my suburb this morning. Oh well! At least there are buses to catch, but if only I had known they weren't running to schedule! Or was it a blessing in disguise?

IMG_06112018_083033_(700_x_900_pixel).jpg

While I was waiting on the side of the road, I had a look around, and saw the bottlebrush trees in full bloom. These trees are endemic to Australia, but are cultivated in many other contries as well. The bees love their flowers, which grow in cluster resembling a bottle brush, hence the name.

IMG_06112018_083141_(780_x_1000_pixel).jpg

These are hardy tress, which require very little maintenance, and are well-suited to the hot, dry Australian climate. They also add some colour to the streets in spring, leaving a red carpet of needles on the ground below them as the flowers fall off the tree.

IMG_06112018_083214_(1500_x_850_pixel).jpg

Now, I could be upset about getting to work late, but I'd rather be thankful that I got the opportunity to look around me at nature's beauty in action, and turn a bad experience into something pleasant. There is a positive side to almost every inconvenient or negative experience... if you look hard enough, you will find it.

Have a great day!!





Team Australia, Team South Africa, and The Alliance banners by @bearone

My Awesome Upboks by @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

You do have to watch out for bees in them and also the habit of the petally bits merrily attaching to you when you walk past but they are very pretty XD

The recent winds made most of the lawn redish from the brush.

Always a positive balanced out with negative on the day, so glad you took time on hand to enjoy what nature shared with you @bmj

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05