Beer Bottling Day | American Amber Ale

in #life5 years ago

DSCN193222.jpg


Hey all!
The fermentation is complete, so now it's time for bottling.
Start with cleaning the bottles you're using.
To make it easier, I recommend rinsing the bottles with hot water immediately after you have drunk the beer.
This will save you a lot of time!
Put all the bottles in the dishwater, use the hottest program.

IMG_20190903_172312.jpg

Then you need to sanitize the bottles. I have bought this handy bottle rinser, it sprays the sanitizing solution into the bottle. You only need to pump about 3 times and the bottle is sanitized completely.

IMG_20190904_095916.jpg

Let them dry. The Starsan sanitizer is very handy, because you don't have to rinse after sanitizing. The remaining foam doesn't effect your beer at all.

IMG_20190904_101229.jpg

Sugar. So why do you need sugar? You need it for carbonation and beer foam. For this beer I put about 6 g of sugar/ liter beer. It depends what kind of beer you're making. I use this site to figure this out: http://www.brewunited.com/priming_sugar_calculator.php

IMG_20190904_101644.jpg

Remember! You have to boil the sugar with a small amount of water, just to make sure everything is clean.

IMG_20190904_102513.jpg

Sanitize all your tools you're using that touches the beer. If you don't do that, there is a big risk for contamination.

IMG_20190904_112556.jpg

Also the bottle caps!

IMG_20190904_112619.jpg

As you can see, there is a lot of hop gunk in my fermenter bucket, because I dry hopped the beer. You don't want that in your final product, so put a filter cloth around the siphon. The fermenter bucket needs to be on a higher level and the pot/container (where you transfer the beer) on a lower level. Give it a few pumps, and then the beer will flow automatically.

IMG_20190904_113627.jpg

Remember to put the sugar solution on the bottom of the pot/container before you start siphoning the beer. When you do it like this, the sugar solution will be mixed well and evenly.

IMG_20190904_113635.jpg

After you have siphoned all the beer to another container. Lift it up to a higher level, and then you can start siphoning the beer into the bottles.

IMG_20190904_115713.jpg

I use a bottle-filler tool that you attach at the end of the hose. When you put it to the bottom of a bottle, the beer starts to flow. When the bottle is full, you lift it up and the beer stops to flow.

IMG_20190904_124705.jpg

The beer bottling is almost done! 14.5 liters in total! Mostly I use patent caps, saves a little bit time. The rest I cap with my bench capper.

IMG_20190904_115721.jpg

Capping the beer bottles!

IMG_20190904_120027.jpg

Lastly, you have to clean everything. This is the part I hate the most! But it's very important that you clean everything carefully.

IMG_20190904_120548.jpg

When you're done with the cleaning, put the bottles in a room with a temperature over 20° Celsius. This is important for the bottle fermentation, which gives carbonation and a nice head to your beer.
In about 2 weeks the beer should be ready to drink. Usually, I test one bottle after one week, just for the sake of curiosity. It's interesting to see how the beer develops with time!
If you're wondering why I have put a plastic bag over the beer bottles. It's just for safety, it has never happened to me yet, but your beer bottles can actually explode. Especially, if you've overdone the priming sugar.

IMG_20190904_124742.jpg

When the beer is ready, I will do a review! :)
Stay tuned!

I also review beers. Check out my latest beer reviews:

Borran's Beer Review: Virmalised

Borran's Beer Review: Must Kuld

Borran's Beer Review: Almost 5 Year Old Orval!

Borran's Beer Review: Lervig Hoppy Joe


I hope you enjoyed my post! Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

I love to read this and looking to all your bottles and all this work. Great Job!!

!BEER

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed my post! :)

You got a 16.61% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @borran!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 2 SBD and max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM. Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.



Hey @borran, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Awesome job! It has been a while since I last did a homebrew. Perhaps it is time to knock the dust off the equipment and get one going... I appreciated that you gave brief explanations on various elements of the bottling process. It is very informative and useful for people that have not done it before.

Thank you so much! Do you use bottles or a keg? I'm thinking about switching to kegging!

Nice write up. I appreciate the details for each step.

Thanks for stopping by! :)

This must be the most detailed "how to brew at home" guide I've seen :) Great read!

Thanks! I'm glad to hear that! :)

Sounds great, I use carbonation drops for the carbonation, it works quite well, but you need to but one in each bottle, before filling it. I don't know if you know them, but it basically is a sugar pill.
(I bottled last week, thus mine should be ready by next weekend, but I will be away from home for a week, thus I will test when I come back, meaning the beer would be in the bottle for 3 weeks)

Yeah, I've heard about that method too, but I've never tried it! :)...3 weeks in bottle sounds great! My beer is ready tomorrow! Exiting times! :)

Great, looking forward to see the result!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69