Finding Family Where You Are

in #life6 years ago

KIMG2306-02-02.jpeg

What the heck does this title have to do with an old boat?

In this case it's the story of Found Family, Community, and Group Projects.

KIMG2333-01-01.jpeg

This boat showed up at my dear friend's home late this winter.

Three years ago we both moved to our road. Two years ago we met each other.

KIMG2353-01-01.jpeg

On a nice day early this spring we all worked together to turn her dream of a perennial flower bed into a reality.

She and I had lots in common. Our kids were far away. We were both grieving.
Her loss was just weeks old, her husband of 38 yrs. had just passed. My loss was 3 parents in 18 months and another dying at that time, having passed since.

KIMG2364-01.jpeg

The boat came apart rather quickly. Many hands make quick work.

She and I have been companions in our own journeys of finding ourselves, wholing our broken bits.

KIMG2378-01-01.jpeg

Mission one accomplished! Dreams leap forward.

My childhood and her marriage had both been sketchy... Its been healing to have a sister to celebrate the ups and the downs with.

KIMG2380-01.jpeg

Just about gutted. Not bad for a day's work!

We spend time together daily. Several meals a week are prepared in community together. Holiday are celebrated together. This is my family.

KIMG2453-01.jpeg

The boat was moved into place. Odds and ends gathered to create with.

This year our mantra or blessing if you will is to grow through our gardening. Realize ourselves through making inner visions into outer reality.

KIMG2419-01.jpeg

The boat was half filled with material to compost after holes were put in the bottom.

To me, she has become like a mother, a sister, a study buddy, and someone I know will catch me on those days my strength fails me.

KIMG2568-01.jpeg

A load of sawdust to keep the weeds down around the boat.

I will honestly admit that I like the perks! A hot bath in her deep tub. A real kitchen with running water, both in and out of the sink!

KIMG2833-01.jpeg

The break room!

We share interest in herbs, and yarn, and self-sufficiency. We laugh and cry and dance.

KIMG4950-01.jpeg

The boat topped off with soil, planted with strawberries and mulched.

Community matters. Our community in this neighborhood, along this dirt road in the Ozarks, is strong and caring and deep.

KIMG4951-01-01.jpeg

The plan is to have blue flowers surround the boat bed. The arch will be a waterfall trellis.

I hope to feature more members of my personal community. Those whose kindness earn them slots on my homesteads list of resources.

KIMG4943-01.jpeg

Dreams become Reality!

...and Celebrate with those around us!
Family, no matter the blood, makes the world a better place.


~all text and images are my own unless otherwise credited




Just a girl...
Living, Loving and Dancing her way to Wholeness with the help of a Mountaintop and a Purpose.

Follow the Adventure

@borrowedearth


DQmUhMRZf8MSMtkBru146FvBgHki8DDjCwp2QFGKGWDxzfG_1680x8400.png

DQmNouEDFYRmvhF1BSvgeeeZBx4eqbi99sfAgRWsn15c36g.png

Homesteaders Online

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Interesting story, I like it !, thanks for sharing!

Beautiful! I love that you found each other! ❤

What a great project for the two of you to work on. I bet it will look beautiful when all the plants are in it. So great that the two of you have connected and can share with each other. It is always nice to have a good friend like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13