Comprehension of Life

in #life5 years ago (edited)

20181009_164316.jpg

I've been away far too long. From blogging, from writing, from enjoying myself. Work has become a dominant force that I couldn't compete with. So I'm gonna try to start it up again. I hope all goes well.

This is a poem I wrote today. Just calling it comprehensions of life because its many things I dont quite understand. They are facts of life that I have no answer for and wish there was something i could do to fix them. Anyways hope you enjoy.

Comprehensions of Life

I sit back to think, I'm surrounded by silence
I block out the world, all the hatred and violence
All stemming from sex, your religion or race
From all the school bullies that spit in your face.

I sit back to think, facts can't be denied
The world is corrupt, people desensitized
To drugs on the corner, men beating their wives
Then pretend it's all normal, it's their everyday lives

I sit back to think, I'm put in a craze
By adults wanting children in inappropriate ways
A child is helpless, as adults we protect
Not look at a child as a sexual object

I sit back to think, can't believe what I hear
A teen that is different, no acceptance from peers
From the time of her birth, said her gender was wrong
Stuck with a man's body, nowhere to belong

I sit back to think, and I just want to hide
When a veteran decides to commit suicide
Mind turned against them, with no where to turn
How many must die before we start to learn?

I sit back to think, but it makes me feel numb
It doesn't matter what life that you come from
The low life's can only resort to a crime
While the top one percent spends the working man's dime

I sit back to think, I jolt from a shudder
Reports just came in, a successful mass murder
In stunned disbelief, I just lower my head
To reflect on the families effected by death

I sit back to think, I just cant comprehend
Everyone's enemies and no one's a friend
If I'm ever asked what's the meaning of life
Lift up those around you and free them of strife

[EDIT]

Cuz i sit back to think, i cant help but smile
Our family's all back, first time in awhile
For most of the year, a distance too great
But this occasion holds a house free of hate

I sit back and think, my mind rests at ease
Hearing a thank you, then yes sir, and please
Compassionate, respect, a whole house filled of love
A heavenly light seems to shine from above

-Bran the Builder

The edit was added because a close friend told me it was great, bit didnt seem finished. While i read it, i have kinda felt the same almost discomfort at the end. So i added the last 8 lines to finish it out. Im much more comfortable with this.

Sort:  

I'm happy you are back posting. It's a very impactful piece. Keep the creativity flowing. I hope to be inspired to do the same.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

As always thank you for everything you do

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Congratulations @branthebuilder! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73