My True North - An Angel At 16

in #life6 years ago

IMG-20180621-WA0006.jpg

Sixteen years ago I was pregnant, but the one thing that I was not expecting, was to give birth to a person that would change my world in such a great way, someone who inspires me and shows me the true meaning of life, love and untold beauty.

Recently my little angel turned 16, and this lead to quite a bit of introspection from my side as a mother, because as wonderful as it is to watch her grow, it feels more and more as if I am hopelessly looking on as she blooms into a wonderful young lady.

This is the part of their lives where they start making important life decision all on their own, and as a parent I get to take a bit more of a spectator seat in it all, and that in itself is quite scary to say the least, however I do have one tiny point of consolation, and that is in the knowledge that I have done the best I could to give her the right mental tools to use on her journey through life.

IMG-20180621-WA0009.jpg

We only have one chance at every single moment that we are given, you can not turn back the clock, you can not have a do over, the very best you can ever do is try over and over again with every new moment to be the best parent you can possibly be. Year by year seems to be passing and transforming into memories faster than I can keep track, making every single moment all the more precious.

Meggan is no longer the little girl who fell asleep to me singing “stairway to heaven” by Led Zeppelin of course, in stead she is a little angel learning to spread her wings, and I am the mother ready to support her and catch her should she ever falter or fall despite the fact that she is the one who stopped me from falling!

DSCN1571.JPG

A poem written on Meggans First Birthday:

Angel

Sleep my angel;
Let the night take its winged dreams and caress you
May the troubles of your heart
And the thoughts of your mind
Be swept away
By breezes of tranquility
Let not Sights
Nor sounds
Bother you

Sleep well my angel;
Allow yourself to rest, away from restlessness
Forget the worries that concurred the sunlight
And the fears of tomorrow
May waves of calmness overcome you
Let not cold
Nor heat
Disturb you

Sleep now my angel;
In your dreams find the happiness that trust will bring you
In your dreams know of love
Beyond empires of kings
And wisdom of men
In your dreams find the things
that bring you joy

Then Wake
To find yourself in your dream

Then Wake
And know I love you

For you are my only dream
And these are my dreams for you!

U5dryJTkzxt285RdLyVD6RDhFcNY7MN.gif

Sort:  

We only have one chance at every single moment that we are given, you can not turn back the clock, you can not have a do over, the very best you can ever do is try over and over again with every new moment to be the best parent you can possibly be

Wisdom! I like such personal posts and advice shared and for that reason I resteemed and upvoted it : )

Besides that, Vikings were poets too! They were called skalds and chieftains selected the best skalds to sit at their table.

Thank you ever so much Phil, I really appreciate your views and support, thank you for stopping in and also for the resteem!

Your post was resteemed by @resteemza
Please upvote this reply to help us grow

Resteemza image small.jpg

ahhh the beauty of parenthood, you’ve done an amazing job at raising your daughter Breeze. Offering your support and guidance whilst letting her make make her own decisions and choose her own path is a great way to approach these ages I feel (some of the experiences/challenges I still have ahead of me). Beautiful poetry also!

Oh yes, they do grow up so very fast, you will be in this boat sooner than you think...
Thank you so much TRG

Lovely poem, it reminded me Celin Dion's Album "Miracle" such are the pure desires of parents.

Thank you ever so much - You are so kind!

Thank you so much I appreciate the support x

Can on'y dhare your feeling ❤️

❤️

So beautiful! It's both a dream come true and nightmare to watch your littles growing up so fast... My oldest will be 16 in September so I feel your pain and joy as well!

Somehow it does make me feel better knowing I am not "alone" in this LOL

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by breeze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

There is no greater privilege than your child's smile.

Congratulations on the birthday proud mama!

That is so very true - Thank you so much!

Congratulations on raising such a beautiful child. Keep making memories and loving unconditionally. Great parenting!!!

Oh thank you so much - I will always try!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67