Out With the Old...

in #life6 years ago

My wife and kids bought me a new briefcase as an early father’s day gift, as my old one was getting pretty worn down – here is a picture of them side by side:

42EA83A2-096D-45B8-965B-2A30C74C8475.jpeg

I have been using my old briefcase for the last 5+ years and it was starting to rip on the sides where the shoulder strap was fastened. It also was starting to get a more beat-up look to it in general, and I was considering purchasing some leather conditioning oil to see if I could restore it. I was hanging on to its use for as long as I could, but it just made more sense to get a new one.

4B1D2238-B2FF-4B86-8A67-57A3D85537B1.jpeg

In general, I like to use things to their fullest capacity and try to prolong their life as much as possible, but there comes a time where you just must cut if off and replace it… it is at this point it is out with the old, and in with the new.

Of course, in my teens I hung on to my bull hair cut for much too long… and I think I was the only one wearing corduroy pants past 2010 – I suppose fashion is not my forte though.

I am also holding on to our flatscreen TV… it is starting to get lines in it periodically (it is about 7 years old), but if you give it a whack with your hand at just the right angle, they go away for a day or two! I am still trying to figure out when to just get a new one, as it is not an exact science on when you should just replace things.

But I digress. It is nice to have a new briefcase!

Brian

Sort:  

congratulation,for your gift new briefcase.i hope that,you use doing this new style briefcase when you going your office work and another trip..your wife and kids choice really very wonderfull.i like it..i hope that,you change doing your tv very urgently. your kids very loves me and respect your wife.absolutely your family good family in the world..very well done.take care yourself and best of luck of your great work..may god bless you and your sweet family..my dear friend @brian.rrr

Congrats on the new briefcase. You're going to be heading to work in style now. Good on you for trying to keep it going. Sometimes you just have to move on.

TVs are hard to tell when you need to replace. It sounds like you're getting close though. You can pick up a new one at Costco for $400-$500 if you don't need a huge one. If they have one on sale, even better!

I like your new friend's briefcase

I think I identify with you I like to use things until I can not anymore
sometimes mom has had to throw them away and he used to scold me for doing that

but I like your new briefcase surely you will use it for many years

Hello my friends @brian.rrr your family has good taste the truth is beautiful

Now I wonder why when the things or objects that are more years with us and are somewhat damaged are when we want them more? It's a strange thing but it's something that I think happens to most human beings, it happens to me. I always want to use the old and more when I like something.

Brian nice briefcase which your wife bought you certainly the one you had was already very old is something that happens often there is something that we like so much but so much that we use it until it breaks or something

Now to release your new suitcase I hope also soon change that TV urgently asks for it hahaha you must do it before it hurts completely

Congratulation sir @brian.rrr for the special father's day gift. Really i like your wife and kids beautiful idea. We often try to gift something to our special persons on a special day. Thanks a lot for sharing your beautiful father's day memories with us.

Very good gift although a little advanced, also the change is good and sometimes we do not see what we have that we could change for our welfare, so I accompany you for 5 years and these years has lasted for the previous care you have given them hahaha .

It is good to replace them if there is how to do it, what good gift do not you think? although advance is not good because it is not the same emotion.

Congratulation,

i hope father's day you are very pleased to get your gift gifted to your family.

This day will be memorable for you,

I think this is the best gift this year.

Congratulation again To share a beautiful concept with us.

lovely gift : ) I too try and prolong items, clothes etc that I buy , you pay money for them so why not try and get the best out of it !! unfortunately in life some people can't afford to replace items , so I was bought up with a attitude some people are worst of than you so I think maybe its that as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70