Public Transportation to Work

in #life6 years ago

I took public transportation to work yesterday while I was getting the brake pads replaced on my truck. I snapped a handful of photos to share so my steemit friends as I was walking so you can get a glimpse into what that experience was like for me:

A5B84DE8-C74C-4C20-8F35-16B9C5EBAC2F.jpeg

BD524886-FA98-4DC0-9DF7-D096C2010573.jpeg

594DE07E-A488-449E-A467-6B3F9309A33B.jpeg

32D622D4-6452-4B86-B073-8FF92691E356.jpeg

446990AE-2408-4035-88D5-157AA3331FCA.jpeg

EC519D8E-0BD1-4A43-A3A0-2FE119207284.jpeg

067CC41E-39C3-4B13-9C6A-FF905E6A8484.jpeg

For some background, I live 10 miles away from my office and there is an electric metro train that is fairly close to my house and which stops pretty close to my office. 10 miles in Los Angeles traffic usually takes between 25-35 minutes for me, while riding the train takes about 40-45 minutes for me, including walking time. The train fare is $1.75 each direction, so it comes out to $3.50 round trip, which is about the same cost as a gallon of gas would be in my truck. Either way, it costs me about $3.50 in gas to drive, or $3.50 to take the train to work. There is time savings driving myself, but extra wear and tear need to be considered on the driving commute if you are doing a cost comparison. You would think that public transportation would be a lot cheaper, but that is not the case for me.

All this to say that the commute is fairly comparable either way, but that I usually drive. I do find the walk to the train station to be nice but it can certainly get hot. Also, the train is less stressful than driving around in heavy traffic, but it can also get crowed and be standing room only, and there is more flexibility when you have your own vehicle with you.

Regardless, I am fortunate to have multiple options to get to work and I hope you enjoyed the pictures from the train commute!

Does anyone else find that public transportation is about the same or cheaper than taking your own vehicle?

Brian

Sort:  

I thought LA traffic was horrible? Does the train move pretty slow?

its really best quality because you choosing diferent options..transport is a big problem of all areas..so,i think that, you do not get anything expensive the train ticket you just have to leave earlier..but every picture very talentfull and beautifull..just excellent shots photography..your every post very qualityfull..thanks to sharing for your great post..my dear friend. @brian.rrr very well done.. take care yourself and best of luck of your great work. may god bless you..

Sir today's article is my favorite.

Because I love to travel by train.

Sir, I am sharing you with the best picture of my train trips.

![received_1054196634675740.jpeg()received_1054196678009069.jpegreceived_1054196648009072.jpeg

Good photos my friend... looks like a nice ride!

Thank you so much sir .

Hi I’m back I just got my wisdom teeth taken out recently so I’m finally back to read more of your post

Ouch... sounds like a tough day... hope you recover quick!

Friend in the country where I live you already know Venezuela we are going through one of the worst crises, before it was the same to travel on public transport or do it in your own car, in the transport you had to do a little line to take it and in your car you can find you traffic

But now traveling by public transport or on the subway is an extreme sport first because of the lack of cash, there is a lot of crime and little transport you can spend hours standing waiting for the transport to arrive

Traveling in a car is also a difficult thing. The ones that are replaced are becoming more expensive and you can not find them easily.

Personally I travel in private transport that has the company where I work

Ya i didn't know about the transportation system in los angels but here in india it it definately cheaper to go through public transportation then taking your own vahicles. It is even more better to go with train. If public transportation charges 200 INR going from one place to another and same journey can be done in 60 INR going via train. But when you take your own vahicles it will cost you about 700 to 900 INR cause the price of petrol and diesel is very much....

That's smart that you did the comparison. I feel like most people would just do whatever they wanted to do and not consider other factors such as time, cost, cost savings from wear and tear. It's nice that you have another option while your car is getting fixed. Then you don't have to borrow one or have your wife drop you off (or rent one).

I think it was not so bad to walk a bit and take the train I think it's a good idea to do it from time to time

I usually do it frequently but where I live there are not three I use the public transport to go to work is not nice there are many problems here of transport there are few the truth I do not know how you spend more or less if in all it is an odyssey and have a car here the value of a car are many millions

Friend the photos again went sideways, it is a personal brand ... Even if it is a fault I like it.
And well I do not have my own vehicle so I like or do not correspond to public transport.

How are you friend? how is your family?

There was a nice diam pretty flowers the way I think it's cute, how bad is the sun's rays, it makes you hot

It's been a long time since I travel, I do not leave almost where I live, I work at home and I dedicate myself to Steemit, but I think the purchase was good and it's worth it to go more in the car, even though when it's damaged, it's more comfortable but I think it's best to go something more private jagged and you take less to get there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79