NEVER A DULL MOMENT ON THE HOMESTEAD

in #life5 years ago

IMG_0375 (Custom).JPG

Although it can be be fraught with challenges and I've never worked so hard in my life - I wouldn't swap my country life for all the money in the world! I love that my family is together. I love that we get dirty together. I love that we hurdle the difficulties together. I love that we breath the fresh air together. I love that we celebrate each aspect of homesteading together. I love that we are returning to the ancient ways, together!!

IMG_0374 (Custom).JPG

While I understand that country living is not for everyone, there is something about raising children on a homestead that makes each day real. It is inspiring to watch my little boy's enthusiasm for - everything! He gives us many reasons to get up every morning. And to get up early!! As well as to stay up late working. He loves the animals and the agriculture.

IMG_0396 (Custom).JPG

Whether we are milking the goats, building a new home for the chickens, composting the vegetable garden, making a batch of cheese, mending a gate, changing the sheep to new pasture, cutting the latest batch of soap or kneading sourdough, my son is involved. And he is enthusiastic!

WhatsApp Image 2019-08-04 at 15.04.31.jpeg

Do I ever feel like he has been deprived by not growing up in the city? Sure, he will miss out in certain areas. But for me the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. I could ask the same about a city child missing out on country life. It is about choices and personal convictions. Some choose the city. Some choose the country. Some, sadly are unable to live where they would choose to live.

IMG_0445 (Custom).JPG

We choose this life. We love this life. We, personally, believe that a farm life is far more of a natural environment to raise children. We are blessed to have the country home we do, where many choose this life, but cannot actually realize the dream. Thank you for all of you who support me. I am delighted to be able to share a little of our dream life with those of you who live similarly as well as those of you who only dream about it. And of course, for the city mouse who has chosen the fast lane, I appreciate your choice as well as your appreciation for mine! Special week to all of you....

IMG_0382 (Custom).JPG

Sort:  

It's wonderful that you can raise your son in such a wholesome way and that he is so enthusiastic about it! He's such a handsome little guy and growing so much! How are you doing with your pregnancy?
That is an abundant looking crop of oranges! You must have lots of freshed squeezed orange juice! M-m-m! I love that stuff!
Glad to here you are so happy at your place! I raised my son in the country and I think it was a wonderful place to raise kinds - out in nature. He is a man now and has chosen to live in the city but he is always so happy when he comes out for a visit!
Thanks for sharing that glimpse into your homestead!

Thank you for the sweet comment @porters! It really is wonderful! His baby sister is due in a month's time. We're all excited. Our lemon tree also bears as prolifically. They both drip with fruit twice a year for a number of month's. I don't think the fruit trees of today are quite as fruitful. These two are almost 70 years old!

Oh only one month left, that is exciting! And it will be a girl - that will be nice to have a boy and a girl! Hope all goes well with the delivery!
That's amazing that they fruit a couple of times a year and so prolific! They must have a tremendous root system to produce like that even with drought type conditions!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory


This post is manually curated by @azizbd and received an upvote from @SchoolForSDG4
School For SDG4
A School For Social and Educational Development of Underprivileged Children

Wow what are you feeding those Naartjies our Trees were no where near as prolific, very tasty though ;p I love my nephews choice of attire, almost as cool as his Uncle ;p

Not much @craigcryptoking! Just allow them to grow in excellent organic soil and flood irrigate once a week. Perhaps it's because they are about 60 years old? Your nephew's mother has excellent taste in clothing - pity it hasn't rubbed off on her brother......

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake


Manually curated by @victoriabsb.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

This is beyond precious @buckaroo! He is so beautiful, I can't imagine how fun it is to share all of these new experiences with him. Seeing the enthusiasm and joy would be enough for me. I know you work very hard, both of you but I know it will all be worth it in the long run! All the best to you and your family, fabulous pictures and homestead! :)

He is beyond precious @birdsinparadise! Thank you for your sweet words. And yes, it IS worth it!

It’s a busy life for sure, but a wonderful one at that! Love to see glimpses of life in your neck of the woods. Sure looks beautiful!

It is beautiful @hebrewhousewife. And I love sharing it with you all the way over theeeeeere ;)

Great post. Love the country

Posted using Partiko iOS

Absolutely!

You've been visited by @nateonsteemit from Homesteaders Co-op.

I love that we are returning to the ancient ways, together!!

That sentence kinda gave me shivers. In a good way, of course. Glad you're finding enjoyment in the difficulty of a natural life! How are y'all doing? Did the rain keep up and get y'all a little more water in your landscape?


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Thank you @homesteaderscoop! We have had a teeny bit more rain. The drought is still lingering but we have enough water to sustain ourselves

That's good! What are your water collection methods?

Posted using Partiko Android

Well rain water tanks, plus extra gravity fed tanks and a big concrete reservoir.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71