University Visit with my Son

in #life5 years ago

8515bb0b-ba2e-42d6-918d-4e22e3f236d0.jpeg

14497dc7-d0bd-4f4c-8d0a-2d8edecccc7f.jpeg

1f92b5d2-e93a-4c0b-9a05-b19f6eaf23a3.jpeg

b47a4d5c-2d85-4114-af87-725c143ecd0e.jpeg

07bd4383-d27b-40c6-b52c-35ac82ce9c80.jpeg

fafb3da4-306a-48bf-96b9-cc91a3f5e740.jpeg

d69bfe62-805d-4e45-afb6-cb6d1af182ef.jpeg


I meant to post yesterday, but as it turns out, walking for 7 1/2 hours straight when you're normally very sedentary... in the hot sun... and then spending another hour plus walking around searching for the car you lost at the ass crack of dawn... well, it was a long ass day.

Anyway, I went with my son for an all day tour event thing at the college of his choice. He'll be attending next fall. He could have eeked in this year, maybe, but he wanted to take a year and save up money so he doesn't have to work during the school year.

The campus was stunning. So enormous and full of so many opportunities and amazing buildings/equipment/people/clubs, etc. It made me wish that I was the scholarly type, because I'd want to go!

He is so excited to go, he's always thrived in a typical scheduled school environment (he was homeschooled until 10th grade, then went to PS and then concurrent enrollment at Tulsa Tech for Sports Medicine.

It was an amazing day, mostly because my son is AMAZINGLY entertaining company. It was awesome to see all the things that he's going to be doing. I'm so glad I went!

But now I"m really behind on my writing and house stuff... so I need to get on it. Thanks for reading!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

This is very cool. Your son is getting ready to embark on a journey he'll likely cherish the rest of his life. I know I did!! Awesome :)

He is SO excited :) Thank you for your comment!

What an awesome Campus, the building is stunning in the second photograph and I'm a big fan of indoor climbing walls great fun always taking my boy - although he is a long way off attending a University yet.

The Wayne Hirst Centre for Beverage Education sounds like my sort of place, I wonder if they have a Coffee section?

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

The "Beverage Education"was next to an actual functioning 'fancy' restaurant. There is also a small upscale hotel on campus. Both of them are run by those getting hospitality degrees. The "beverage education" is to educate and refine the palate of these Oklahomans who want to move onto bigger and brighter things! ;)

The rec center was HUGE. There were a bunch of basketball courts, ever piece of fitness equipment I could imagine, a pool, the rock climbing wall, etc. And that was just the part we walked through on the tour! The buildings were all so gorgeous. It was stunning. I've actually never been on a campus before. I've driven by, but never been inside. It was quite the experience!

It's a wild idea. Thank you for the comment.

Scott and I would go to dinner at the restaurant once every two weeks. I loved that they played old-timey music and it felt like a ranch. I do miss being there.
Ren

It looked like an amazing place. I wanted to move there myself, if only I didn't have to take math and science classes, I might be able to do it! :)

Stillwater is an amazing place really. If we didnt need to be close to my parents, we would have looked at moving back.

My feet are aching in sympathy! Oh, the things we do for our children! I am intrigued by the building with the "beverage education" sign. What on earth is that?

Looks like they've done some updates since I worked there in 2008-2010. I just love being on a college campus.
Ren

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23