**SORRY STEEMIT, DEPRESSION OVER TOOK ME!**

in #life7 years ago

image

My dear Steemit friends,

Last year I promised you many things. I promised I would tell you my story of my new life here in Europe.. but the inevitable happened. I allowed depression to take over me!

How is it possible that a person could leave a third world country to move into one of the most beautiful countries in the world (Switzerland), being married to a beautiful Italian woman, opportunities to make an incredible living fall into depression?

Why did I allow this to happen to me?

How I was able to overcome my depression?

How may my story help you?

To understand we must start from the beginning... Here's my story.

The Beginning
I grew up in a beautiful island in the Caribbean called St Kitts. The eldest son of 4 siblings, I have two brothers and two sisters.
My sister's spent more time with themselves as girls, you know playing with dolls😊
My baby brother was just leaning to a creepy around, so I had the tendency of spending a lot of time alone and letting my imagination go crazy.
I was a big fan of comic books Spider-Man, Thor, The Avengers just to name a few.
Life wasnt normal for me as I thought then.
We weren't allowed to play with the neighborhood's kids so I did everything in my power to fit in.
This meant hijacking the cash register of my father's business, (he own a successful restaurant back then) I bought games and toys to impress myfriends at school.
At a young age I quickly rebelled against my parents.
Life at home became boring the streets seemed the most fascinating place in the world to be, so I left home and headed for the streets.

Life on the Streets
I quickly adapted to a life on the streets after dropping of school at age 14.
At this age I was already experimenting with drugs and alcohol. I even had a girl friend of 22 and I was only 15!
By the age of 18 I got hooked on hard drugs and stole and robbed to support my habit.
I got arrested and spent almost one year in prison.
Being called the black sheep of the family, I was ashamed of life. I wanted to change my life but didn't know how to do it.
A brilliant idea came to me. Maybe I can move away from my Island, maybe things will be better some where. A chance to start over.

The Move
The move to a neighboring Island of St Maarten was refreshing.
St Maarten can be discribed as the New York City of the Caribbean. There were many opportunities there. So I became a self-taught intrapreneur.
In the year 2000 created my first Sales and Marketing company. Then in 2007 I opened a restaurant.
Life seemed great what else can I ask for?
Then it happened...

The Fall
The economy in United States crashed and so did businesses in the Caribbean.
After losing big contracts mismanagement of funds I soon found myself in bankruptcy.
I had been through problems before but this one was different.
We had a two-year-old daughter to take care off.
image
My precious little flower

My daughter's mother my girlfriend at that time, wasn't legal on the island. We were both afraid that she could be deported at anytime.
What would have happened to our little baby girl if that happened?
Then she suddenly got sick.
Doctors said she had a tumor in her liver. Her father and sister both died from cancer. You can guess what we both were thinking.. My whole world was spiraling down on me!

No job, no money, my daughter's little eyes looking at me playfully not having a clue the situation we were in, while my girlfriend was lying on the sofa sick, afraid that the worst thing could happen, we heard a knock on the door. It was time for us to leave!
We had not paid the rent for 18 month! We were being evicted!

However I forgot to tell you this...

The worst thing that had happened...

My worst nightmare...

image
Me during not so good times

For almost thirty years I had quit drugs and alcohol. Hanging around the wrong people I relapsed back into drug abuse..
Drinking and drugging was the new me. I became a junkie!
My life is over...this is the end..

How can I face my mother and friends who believed in me?
I AM SUCH A FAILURE!

Where do I go from here?

Will my girlfriend die?

Who will take us into live with them?

What will happen to my baby girl?

Well, you will have to wait until my next post...If you can 😉

Until then,

Caribbeanmon 👊

Sort:  

Wow @caribbeanmon, nice to see you back here on Steemit. You have really poured out your heart here and I respect you for that!

I wish you a lot of success here as I know that you are an excellent and motivating personal trainer and you have a lot to offer this platform!

Thanks old dog for your comments, feels really good to be back looking forward to do this again!

Yeah, your honesty was encouraging. I've been a drunk and a druggie too, but one day at a time, we can leave that all in the past. Beautiful daughter too man!

All we can do is get back up and try again.

Thanks you sir for your kind remark! We should never quit from trying!

Thanks you sir for your kind remark! We should never quit from trying!

Indeed hilarski! we have no other choice!

Very touching personal experience @caribbeanmon!
Thank you for sharing with us, must have been a difficult thing to do.
I look forward to hearing the rest and to future posts;) Steem on!

Thanks Peter Parker, Its my pleasure if my story can help someone.

Very touching and heart felt story....I'm so sorry re your woes....looking forward to read the rest...

Thanks lellabird60, I don't know any other way to tell my story..but to express it for what it is.
However I've come to appreciate that my challenges in life created my character am today!
My advice to any who's facing challenges is to learn from them, don't be afraid of them!

Dear friend @caribbeanmon you are an exemple of enduring! Don't give up! Wow! What a personal experience... respect!

I sincerely hope that my story can help someone some day... thanks for your encouragement!

Hello! Let me be your friend. I'm sorry that everything happened in your life. I have a close friend in Ukraine who also got into trouble and his life went awry. I will follow you. I wish your little princess a lot of health. I wish your wife a speedy recovery. And you want to "pull myself together". Think about the family. No "buzz" in life will not replace the smile of your daughter. Come out of depression. We need to do something. We need to work to buy medicine and pay for housing. I will pray for your family. I believe in you. You are strong!. I am your new friend from Ukraine.

Thanks @sokoloffa your have encouraged and inspired me. Thanks for being my friend!😊

Welcome back man! You've got me on the edge of my seat waiting for your next installment. Seems you will bring a lot to the platform, so for that I am always happy. Enjoy and I'm sure I'll see you around.

Thanks @sixsfeds for your encouragement

Congratulations @caribbeanmon, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1467 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1013.19. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thanks man bitgeek for your report. This will definitely encourage me to continue my story!

I respect your brutal honesty. I will definitely follow your tale.

My pleasure one tree! Thanks for your upvote.
I am looking forward to continuing my story!!

I sincerely hope my story can encourage someone...someday.

Congratulations @caribbeanmon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37