Job interview and other ramblingssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

Tomorrow I'm having an interview for a job as a customer server to an info-desk at a mall. I'm actually hoping to get this one because I'm quite well equipped for it having some customer service experience as a janitor in an A-clinic on my civil service under my belt. Also, having done the trip to SF and beyond, it has quite extensively improved my fluency in verbal English which is also required for the job.

Of course, it would be little different, because the target audience isn't limited to alcoholics and those recovering, but believe it or not, they never caused much trouble. It might actually turn out to be the sober ones to be the trouble cases... Well, I'm just kidding. Hopefully that'll also remain that way in case I get the job. Nah, but I have a cool temper, so I will be fine.
It takes a lot to drive me off the edge, however it has happened...

DSC_7058.JPG

The position would actually be a part-time, except in summer when there's a possibility to work full-time, but I actually think part-time would fit perfectly for now, because while I don't earn as much money as quickly, I think it would be a sustainable solution that I could tolerate longer than full-time one and still feel like a human; it would leave more room for my other activities like vocal practicing which I prefer to do home alone, and of course Steeming and reading, writing, learning – things that I actually disliked at school (well, excluding Steem, because that wasn't taught).

I'm most likely not going to school, because just the thought of it causes me a... feeling of unease. I guess it just comes down to the hate of feeling like being trapped in a box. Sure, I could study something from creative domain, but ehh... I don't want to potentially ruin that slight passion – again – on the areas that I now actually like. I guess I want not go through the ready paved highway of life, but instead the more unorthodox solutions – "outside the box", or " via unpaved road" (which is really annoying with bicycle without suspension btw), if being consistent with the road analogy. Sometimes though I wonder if I'm creative enough to make it in any domain ever, because creative work is notoriously hard to monetize. Except on Steem.

DSC_7057.JPG

I've made this point already sometime ago, but I think it deserves more drilling: Think how many people have earned even a single penny from doing something creative whether it be music, writing, painting etc. Now, I don't know the statistics on this, but for the overwhelming majority of the population, they have earned none. Zero. Even among content creators, I believe the majority earn nothing, because there's A LOT of them, especially if you count all the people uploading, what, 100 hours of video every minute on Youtube?

I'm not saying it's easy on Steem – I struggled in the beginning like anyone else – but just think about the existing platforms: you probably need years of dedicated creation to even have a chance to catch some real traction on a blog or Youtube channel, especially to live off of it. And here a lot of people give up because it's not good enough replacement for a job. They're definitely right on that. But it all depends on what you want; if you can't handle any uncertainty and risk whatsoever then yeah, Steem might not be your bet, because nothing is guaranteed here. But then also, for those people who are here, content creators and else, it's a massive opportunity for the exact same reason others with disappointment leave: Uncertainty. Because even if this place even moderately succeeds, there's potentially life changing benefits for those who took the risky bet. The downside? Losing few hundred dollars or even only just the time you have put here, but that is not so bad at all since you still have the time to watch Youtube and Netflix.

Anyway, hopefully I'll get the job, so I could buy some cheap Steem. If not, then I'll have to find another one.

It would also alleviate my "broke ass" syndrome a little...

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.117 which ranks you at #3231 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 6 places in the last three days (old rank 3225).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 274 contributions, your post is ranked at #216.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @celestal! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2500 comments. Your next target is to reach 3000 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88