You can fly higher than you can imagine

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Along my journey I've had the pleasure of meeting people that have a lot of potential, because I've been dealing with so many people in my life, I have developed over the years a 6th sense to recognize potential.

I'm sure that just on this very subject I can share many stories, many teachings that life has taught me, but for this short post, I wanted to talk about a particular friend.



img src

It was special to his growth, to see his mind shift from being an employee, to someone who wanted more for his life, someone with a dream. But it took a lot of work to get there, and of course a lot of patience.

One of the things I used to tell him a lot, was "One day you will understand, but for now listen to me" I remember how my words frustrated him, but I knew that with time he would begin to understand his own value, and let go of his fears.

It was a slow process for him to realize that he did not need the false security of his day job, that he could also be an Entrepreneur. I could see his potential, I knew he had the right raw materials to be very successful, if he could only let go of his fears.

Sometimes I would call him at work, I would give him advice on what to say, what to do, and he would respond "I need to work, I can't talk on the phone right now" - his fear was very real, I could hear it in his voice. He thought that if he tried to improvise and grow outside of exactly what he was told, he would probably get in trouble. Believe me, life is about having initiative and being creative.

After more than a year of doing business together and having many conversations, I started to see a change in the way that he valued his work, his confidence. All of the sudden he stopped feeling trapped in a job that he didn't really like, and he now believed he had choices. But the truth is, he always had choices, he just never saw them.

There is an old story I was told a long time ago regarding elephants; When they are babies, they tie one of the legs to a pole, to keep it still. The elephant's mind get's conditioned, and it believes that its trapped, that it can't move for the rest of its life, even when it weighs tons and can tear a tree of the ground if it wanted to.

Humans and their potential are that way, but we have to learn to recognize our freedom first, recognize that we always have a choice.

Hope everyone is doing great, regards

@chbartist

Sort:  

As a young person, figuring out the ideal step is always a challenge. Not always because of lack of guidance but sometimes because of an overload of them. But now I'm beginning to figure that taking a step is always better than doing nothing. I'd just try something anyways.

Dear sir!
All persons have innate physical abilities, they need to recognize and develop us. Talents remain suppressed due to the person's tendency and fear. Perhaps your special friend has had the same problem, due to which he was proved to be unable to do justice with his ability. A true friend is the one who is standing in a bad time. You played the role of a true friend in a very good way. The possibilities are everywhere, we just need to recognize the underlying powers and move them in the right direction.
Compared to others, your articles are very simple and easy to understand, making them very easy to express in own words.
Regards sir.

Hi friend, thanks again for your comments. Your comments are often deep and polished. I really appreciate that. My writing will always be as simple and clear as possible and you already know this because I've said it clearly in other posts because I want to make sure that people can understand what I mean. You as a polite person understand why I do this and also know that the written word is often cold, and can be interpreted in many ways because they unfortunately can not have the expression of our face or voice intonation. Regards

Thanks sir for your kind words.Its give me more energy to follow your concept.

Hi there, very nice and informative post towards life and our potential. I live in Himalaya and met many Guru (Masters), what they told me that is out of mind thing. Human body and mind is beyond our imagination. We can do anything, literally anything, we just need to awake ourselves.
Could you believe that we can change our body like clothes that too without getting died. It's called in Sanskrit "Parkaya vidhi" (do not have any English word for it). But still there are lots of things to explore by human beings.

Posted using Partiko Android

It must be amazing to live in the Himalaya and I believe that it should be a great learning from the local culture. I would love to see you more here and share your comments with all of us. Thank you

We all have great potential, but like you said, we have to learn to recognize our freedom first. This is harder for some than it is for others. We tend to limit ourselves, just like the elephant. When we have friends or loved ones like you, willing to go the extra mile with encouragement and maybe a little push, it can make all the difference.

It always makes a difference! Believe me! Regards

i am agree with you

Welcome @chbartist ,i hope that you are good.
Everyone has a potential to grow up, some people found it but some needs motivational speakers to make them realize that they have the potential to achieve success.
There is no doubt that we always have a choice, but we afraid of losing something which is not good. To be successful hardwork and patience is necessary. Success is for those who work hard, it's not for lazy people.
I appreciate your way of keep motivating people. As a lot of people are getting tips from your experience.
Keep on posting such helpful articles .
I'm thankful you @chbartist ,
Have a good day

Thank you for always reading and I hope it is always inspiring for you.

Great motivational blog. When I was reading your blog I remembered my about my brother who is currently a business man but in starting he want to do a job and doesn’t want to come in family business but my father motivated him that try our business for one year after that if you want to quit them you can now it been six years.
Sir you are talking about you have developed sixth sense then what you think about me.
In India this is early morning and reading a motivational blog in early morning is great for the hole day thanks for sharing this great post.

I'm very glad that reading my post is a positive energy for you to continue your day with more inspiration. Regards

We see what we want to see.
Freedom and destiny.
We keep what we want to keep.
Mindset, mentality.

Thank you for sharing your experience! A good morning read!

Thank you Friend!

I am actually seeing a lot of similarities between your friend and myself , and i will be grateful if you can put me through the same process you made your friend go through to realise his potential
Going through this story,
"There is an old story I was told a long time ago regarding elephants; When they are babies, they tie one of the legs to a pole, to keep it still. The elephant's mind get's conditioned, and it believes that its trapped, that it can't move for the rest of its life, even when it weighs tons and can tear a tree of the ground if it wanted to".
I can relate it to myself looking at my background, and realising that i grew up around adults who always find fault in anything i did as a child and are often saying negative things about me to my hearing. It made me to shy away from doing some things i wanted to do, i always find excuse not to venture because of the phobia of been accused of not doing it right.

That's exactly what I'm trying to do here but with a larger number of people. Stay here and I hope this can make your way better! Do not be afraid because there is nothing to fear!

gowealth,

I believe that when parents say negative things toward their children, it's because the parents have low self esteem. Maybe they feel like a failure in life, therefore thinking their children can't do anything right or just not very smart. This mindset that influences a child is hard to undo. I think if you can develop the thought to try out new things, then assess yourself and find out what you can and can't do. It's ok to fail. You can try again and again. Answers will surface and you will find peace and know where you want to be in life. Success does not always equate to a Million dollars. Success is having freedom and loving your life. I hope that I've inspired you a little bit here.

The behavior that you had with your friend is the one that parents have with their children: you oriented him, you made him see his qualities, his virtues. That's what real friends do. I believe that many of our fears and our limitations are made by our immediate surroundings. I always say: tell a child that he is intelligent and he will be brilliant; tell a child that he is a brute and you will have cut off his wings forever. We must begin to learn to relate to others, not to see their faults first (Fulano if he is fat, if he is out of shape) but to help that person get ahead and that begins with reaching out, but also with saying a good word to him. Sometimes words can open the bars that kept you locked up. It's always good to read you, poet! Hugs

Thank you, my sweet friend! Good is always to read your kind words.

Well the truth is that I am not a person to treat many people, sometimes I consider myself asocial, but maybe I see that I am rather shy, but if as you mentioned there are many people that one knows in daily life that have great potential but Sometimes we do not know how to take advantage of it or we do not realize it, but the time is over, but the important thing is to change if you can still and improve many things either in the work part and in your daily life, it is always a pleasure to read your publications , it's very interesting and good, regards @chbartist

To change and become mature is part of life my friend. It's not late for that! Regards and thank you for your words

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30