Jive Talking?

in #life5 years ago

Hey My J's,

It's me back again for your daily dose of random thoughts for the day is my thoughts around conversation. We all talk to one another on a daily basis throwing thousands of words around per day some of it useful, most of it useless in context but more of a way to engage and remain in each others lives, to bond and so on.

I just find that lately if a conversation with someone becomes a struggle I rather not even attempt to talk much any more. In my younger days I would be adamant about my opinion and battle it out to the bitter end, arguing and debating and hopefully getting the person to see my way or submit which to me at the time felt like the same thing, which it was not.

I know we've all been guilty of being on both sides of that kind of conversation.

Now, however, I just really put out what I have to say, if it doesn't resonate, then the message wasn't meant for that person and at least you tried. I'm not saying it is , by all means, a better approach I just feel too tired to think of a better one.

05198a2cb683e4893348c7f9318621b2913516-wm.jpg

Quit Jive talking

People are always going to have their own thoughts and ways of doing things and that's fine. I think that conversations are meant to be productive and constructive and when it goes around in circles or you feel you're not being heard I just want to get off this ride and call it quits.

I think silence helps give you a lot of perspectives and sometimes conversations aren't meant to happen in one go, a lot of information is thrown back and forth and should be processed with the right amount of thought before responding and with the instant exchange in conversations, it leaves a lot of room for misinterpretation.

Lol, but what do I know anyway? I've never been really good at peopling. Most of the time I'm doing the "wrong" thing as I mousy on through life.

Lol the song has no real bearing on the content I just included it because I like the song and my quirky choice of title for this post.

Have your say

What do you good people of steem think? Do you have any tips to be a better conversationalist?

Holla at me in the comments! All my commenters I will now refer to as Jessie. Jessie is a good friend of mine, but Jessies got a girl, and I want to make her mine.

So have at it my Jessies! If you don't have something to comment, simply comment "I am a Jessie."

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Get Daily Upvotes With SmartVote

Member of the SmartVote community

Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83