We're all equally misguided by the help of a lie

in #life5 years ago

Hey My J's,

It's me back again for your daily dose of random thoughts for the day is my thoughts around the lies we tell ourselves daily. We've been told that lies are bad and we should always strive to tell the truth, which is an ok blanket rule to follow until you get punched in the faces for being a tattletale, snitches get stitches.

Our lies get better with time

As you grow older, that simple rule starts to get bent and is applied with a little more nuance and finesse. While some will try to walk this tight rope, others seem to slip off entirely, and we get things like compulsive lying or motivations behind your lies.

There is not a person on the planet who lies who doesn't have some sort of excuse/motivation for it that seems so practical and even noble to them, and you cannot tell them otherwise.

113219-Richard-Bach-Quote-The-worst-lies-are-the-lies-we-tell-ourselves.jpg

We lie to others only after lying to ourselves

When we make the decision to lie to others we give oursleves permission to do so, but how can we give ourselves permision to lie if we value the truth? Well we lie to ourselves first, coming up with all sorts of clever reasons why this proposal is the best way forward. We try to outsmart ourselves and the truth instead of opting for it, it can often be comical the extent at which we are willing to go to avoid the truth.

5850731-James-Wolcott-Quote-The-lies-the-government-and-media-tell-are.jpg

Why we can live a lie with ease

Now if we can believe lies and lies alter our perception, and our perception is our reality then its natural to see how we can build lives on lies. It's easy to see how we can shape our thoughts, our impressions and our interactions to validate our lies and selectively choose the messaging we want to see.

Lies don't just come from within; they may be passed down in your family, your circle of friends or misinformation you received that fundamentally shaped your way of thinking.

Unfortantely most of us are taught what to think and live our lives on that basis, and we were never taught how to think. To critically analyse the data we get, to remove the obfuscation and bias and see things for what they are, or for the multitude of things it could be.

We often choose to smack a face value on it, decide and move on. Does this sound familiar? What is the lie that you have been living?

quote-the-biggest-lie-is-the-lie-we-tell-ourselves-in-the-distorted-visions-we-have-of-ourselves-kirk-douglas-62-58-23.jpg

Every lie takes as further from the truth

We lie or we withhold information because to us the truth is shit, the truth is not what we feel people want or can handle. We feel lies can be the path of the least resistance but it only serves to complicate the path and convolute the message.

When you have all the facts and all the information you are able to make better decisions so basing decisions on lies can skew the outcome in ways that weren't organic. But as we continue on the path we somehow make the lie real and its as if it is any other brick in the foundation that makes up your decision making.

bdf31baf267574af277b32bc87b767f7.jpg

I feel there are so few truths in this world, so when you find someone willing to be that honest with themselves and with you, some of us are not ready for that kind of raw, real talk.

Have your say

What do you good people of steem think? Do you realise the lies you tell yourself? Do you box yourself in with lies? Do you try to protect yourself with your lies?

Holla at me in the comments! All my commenters I will now refer to as Jessie. Jessie is a good friend of mine, but Jessies got a girl, and I want to make her mine.

So have at it my Jessies! If you don't have something to comment, simply comment "I am a Jessie."

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Get Daily Upvotes With SmartVote

Member of the SmartVote community

Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Sort:  

My dear @chekohler, you have a big topic of conversation here, because this issue is one of those we handle on a daily basis, where we are victims of someone's lies, or make victims of other people from our own lies.

There is a natural tendency of man to lie, there are those who constantly struggle against this and that becomes a daily struggle for some who manage to reduce this tendency to the maximum, some simply let themselves be dragged and suffer the hardest consequence.

I think that the right path for man will always be the truth, even if it is very difficult for him to walk on it. So, everyone chooses the path to follow and must face the consequences of their decisions. Choose the TRUTH no matter how difficult it may be.

Blessings, great theme, very well exposed was a pleasure to read your publication.

Dear @chekohler

I' first one to check out your post and drop a comment. What actually means "J's" ? You welcome us this way and I was wondering ...

We've been told that lies are bad and we should always strive to tell the truth,

We indeed we told so many times over and over that lies are bad. Simply because being truthful makes it easier for those who are raising us. So they expect nothing but truth.

but how can we give ourselves permision to lie if we value the truth?

Do we actually value the truth? The answer is NO! People really don't value the truth. As a matter of fact majority of people prefer to be fed lies. Truth is just brutal and painful more often than not.

Sadly in real life being honest and truthful is not paying back (most of the time). People do not want to hear truth. Demand for lies (as long as those lies goes along with our narratives) is overwhelming.

I'm sure many of us heard already about so called "white lies". I did and I use them every now and then. My only two concerns when I need to lie is:

  • will I harm anyone?
  • will I remember my own little lie?

But then I already met many people, who do not care if their words (truthful or lies) do hurt others and surely they do not care to remember their own lies. And that's just a bit ... hardcore. And it does seem to work fine for many people out there.

Great piece of work buddy. Hope you don't mind that I will share it with few friends.
Yours, Piotr

Lol J's are short for Jessies, Its what I've decided to call steemians who enter my comment section. A group of free speakers if you will.

I try to be as honest as possible, I don't really do the white lie I will however admit I do withhold information for certain reasons which i'm trying to work on, I know its cost me in the past so I hope to learn from that.

Lies can quickly become a tangled web even if your intentions are pure and good.

Oh please don't let me stop you from sharing it, by all means, it would be great if m content reaches more people who enjoy it.

Oh wow. So I'm a Jessie @chekohler? :)

It does sound a bit "girly" hahaha.

lol indeed you are, welcome to the club. It could be but jessie is a unisex name if you add a little nihilism to your life, it will stop bothering you immediately lol

Yeah... sound "girly"

Hi! @chekohler!

So, I'm a J??? Well my name and my nickname start with J

Man! Everybody lies! Always...

Even the presidents!

Not to mention the merchants! Oh my God! To be a merchant that is obligatory to tell lies!

And as my friend says @juanmolina, is even worse through the Internet, in ALL social networks, we invent personalities, worlds, we disinhibited, that is, we are other people, becoming mythomaniacs.

Sometimes we decorate the truth so as not to lie, or as you say, we retain information and we are discreet.

Tell me about it when a woman says to you: Do I look fat? Do I look ugly in this dress? Red alert! Red alert! Don't even think about tell the truth If you want to live! (And you asked why we protect ourselves with lies)

Good post! At some point, we'll have to stop lying (to ourselves and everybody) and grow up

J! over an out!

Welcome to the J squad, we're happy to have you aboard. Indeed I think since we are emotional beings we want to keep everything in a state of happiness or we looking for self gain and fulfillment and lies are a tool we've been told can give us that.

I try to always tell the truth when I can, It doesn't work out all the time the way you expect but I try to remember I have no control over thing and others.

That's how we do it in the J Squad!!!!

(I always wanted to say that!)

I have always thought that we all lie. At some point we will.

I have heard hypotheses that say that very young children, even before they can talk, lie. That milanipulator cry used to request caresses or food, is nothing more than a lie (in many cases).

The most palpable example of the lie we see at every moment in social networks. People pretending what they are not. Not only about physical appearance, but about his own personality. In this way we find people with multiple personalities.

You have said many truths here dear @chekohler.

That's an interesting point you make there @juanmolina I never actually thought about it but it does make a lot of sense. Every relationship is a power play and im sure kids might not understand but they now how to adjust outcomes in their favour even if it is just for personal gain.

Parents are always going to give in though, that's just the biased nature of the bond.

When you do figure out a way to find out how to see what and who people really are, lol please let me know, ive yet to figure it out

oh, my God!

You can imagine it?

I hope I can know at least 1% of how we are people.

Dear @chekohler

Wow Reading your publication reminded me of something I read many years ago, that mentioned an investigation that was carried out with lying people, and it turned out that the most deceitful people were the smartest.

They concluded in that theory due to the amount of form and questions they asked where they studied the lies but also traits of the person and their behavior.

I ask myself a question, then does it mean that I am not very intelligent?

I agree, I think the smarter we become the more we tend to think we are above certain practices and we can reason or lie to ourselves so well we believe that we're not doing harm with all the various justifications and safe guards

Smart people are just better at lying so It would make sense that they would be more deceitful.

I don't think its blanket rule that your intellect dictates how deceitful, its just your predisposed ability to be. I think you still have the choice to be honest regardless of how smart you are.

Hi, @chekohler!

You just got a 4.71% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.832 which ranks you at #4668 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 186 contributions, your post is ranked at #86.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13