What Is The Point Of Being A Decent Human Being In Indecent times?

in #life5 years ago

I don't normally share anything about my personal life online partly because I don't care to and partly because its not very interesting to share, with so many concepts and ideas to explore why even talk about yourself?

ctb4xb7io7.jpg

Like most humans, I'm just figuring shit out as I go along for as long as I have on this little blue planet. I've made my fair share of mistakes and will continue to do so into the future. Overall I try to be a good person to myself and everyone I come into contact with but I'm really starting to wonder what is the point of it all.

I guess its easy to be a good person when the world and people are receptive to it but hard when its not and I guess I'm supposed to stick it out right? 2019 has hit pretty hard with both personal and professional losses and I am starting to have doubts about the point of being decent.

I recently received some pretty disturbing news that rocked me down to my core and it started bringing this all up to the surface.

They say evil thrives on the understanding and tolerance of good people. Evil will triumph the moment good people do nothing. So is there a way to be a good person and be actionable?

  • Why be the decent guy when the woman prefers to be with someone who mistreats her?
  • Why be the decent guy when work is only handed to those who employ underhanded tactics?
  • Why be the decent guy when indecent men will attack you when you're defenseless?

Why does man have to be so cruel? I don't even think there is an equal act of goodness that can match to some of the atrocities man commits every day. Just thinking about the things people do to one another on a daily basis turns my stomach.

Is there still hope for decent people?

What I want to know is sticking to my values worth it? Is being a good person ever going to make a difference? How can goodness compete with instant gratification, material wealth and the rest of the vices/values the modern world holds so dear?

Since I have no answers, I pose the question to you people of steemit. What do you think?

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Get Daily Upvotes With SmartVote

Member of the SmartVote community

Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Sort:  

So, here's the way I see it.

I don't believe in Karma. I think it's a fundamental misrepresentation of real world effects. Basically, morality has two dimensions; physical and spiritual.

A moral act (as we only exist as humans in the present) will have positive long term benefits and negative short term consequences. Period. Sure, you can argue around moral dilemmas and find examples where this isn't true... but that's looking for exceptions and ignoring the rule. Overwhelmingly, moral actions create long term benefits. Short term consequences is something you hardly need to argue, as this post already takes that as granted.

Meanwhile, an immoral act will have positive short term benefits with negative long term consequences. The short term benefits, again, barely need to be argued. Long term, though, is harder to convince people of. People see wealthy criminals wonder where the justice is in the world. But if you follow these people, their evil conduct will usually catch up with them. If they don't end up in jail, they will still have rocky personal relationships and be constantly looking over their shoulder for worse people looking to do them various kinds of harm. Does that sound like a fulfilling existence?

Then, there is the spiritual dimension. The quick way of saying this is: What does it benefit a man, to gain the world but lose his soul?

Corrupt, evil people exist within their own personal hell, crafted by themselves. You are the one person you can never get away from, so if you become evil, you are stuck with that evil. If you believe in Hell(I personally do), then you get a short term comfortable life on Earth before facing an eternity of agony. Meanwhile, the honest man who works hard and maybe doesn't have a fortune, instead having healthy relationships with friends and family, is far better off in my opinion.

I know what my choice is.

Thank you for that amazing response. I guess we can't really see the effects because they're not going to show you that part of their life only the good, the gains and if it all falls down it quickly goes silent. I guess the narrative just looks like evil pays off in a way.

I wouldn't want to lose my soul and I take pride in being a good person, I don't really want any of that other stuff. I just want good people to get what they deserve, not just about me, I mean all people who are good.

This response built on the post is a great collaboration :).
I appreciate and enjoyed the response!

Dear @chekohler, i don't know what happens to you but anyway you should keep your right way to be a good man.
It doesn't matter what happens, the important you keep in peace with your soul.
If when you wake up and look yourself into mirror, if you feel bad it means your are doing things against your soul, if you feel good it means your soul is very satisfy about what you are doing.
So going true the way your soul appreciate and you will be ok...:))

Thank you so much @intellihandling it’s never gotten to me before this is the first time I feel so disheartened, I’m usually super positive and take things in my stride! You are right though it’s all about keeping your soul satisfied and not selling out for a quick buck or instant gratification it will only leave you hollow! Nothing worthwhile is easy

Posted using Partiko iOS

mmmmm, I am too lazy to be underhanded. Mostly. Seems to me also that if you go around hurting others they never fucking go away, those people seem to have so much drama in their lives. I don't like drama and many peoples existence matter too little to me to care what they are up to which cuts the amount of taken advantage down quite a bit. I would say decency with some apathy is a good combo. Very low effort and then you die :)

I wouldn’t say I have many interactions with people I just think that it’s got to a point where finding good people to be around is a hazardous occupation! Like all we can do to be decent is be alone and wait to die

Posted using Partiko iOS

Most people are good; they just seem bad because they are weak and do what is easy over what is right.

In answer to your questions:

If you want to be with a woman who gravitates to abusive relationships, then you need to question why you want her. It seems to me that a person is also damaged who wants a damaged person.

People who employ underhanded tactics are not happy-go-lucky; they end up living their own personal hell and are not to be admired, but rather pitied. They have the kind of success that will punish them by attracting awful, shallow people, and loneliness.

It's okay to defend yourself, but it's better to avoid sinking to someone else's level while doing so.

Explore your values; make some mistakes so that they become more precious to you.

Thank you for taking the time to give such an amazing answer! I suppose some days it just gets to me! In the end I just want the best for the world and the people I care about! So much pain inflicted today one another is unnecessary and unacceptable

Posted using Partiko iOS

If you want an elegant answer ask an elegant lady. High five

!tipuvote 0.2 hide

Pretty much, and really it is not a bad thing knowing that you just don't like most and expecting them to be quite shitty. Self-preservation :) I kinda like the magic internet people though, they are soooooo real. The demon people from the real world not so much, each one is shit until they are not shit, but I got shit to do so will figure out that shit later.

Hello magic internet friend.

I'm coming to you from pimp your post.

I am almost 60 and see things completely opposite to your thoughts here. I'm my experience 99% of people are "good" and the other 1% is quite easy to avoid.

How I live my life is with the people near to me. I do not look at "the world" and all its troubles. I think most of those troubles are fake anyway and manufactured for the "news."

My best suggestion is to turn off media and focus where you are. Find people and projects that give you joy. This is how I keep my life fulfilling no matter where I land.

Yep, this is a question I have often asked. It almost seems that youre in a world not made for you....and in a lot of ways I believe this is indeed the case.
Yes were not made for the fallen world as we are more than 'this'. Eternal perspective is really hard for us living here, but it is the perspective that is needed to get through such a difficult world....and it is not weakness to remain good and pure in a world that is opposite. In fact it is what true strength is

I agree, being good is a real test of stength and character at times, especially in the world we live in now. I guess some days are harder than others. I don't regret my decisions I just feel drained sometimes! Like I need a full recharge and I can be my best again. Being good feels good!

Yeah, there is a blessing that comes from it, that you just dont get from being the average human that is out for themselves and their own
Well done mate

Life is challenging. I can appreciate all the points you make. I would say - keep the faith. One of my mentors says " We're never given anything in life that we can't handle".
We were made for these times.
It forces us to dig deep and find our own strength and courage AND step up into our leadership - however that may look.
Seek out people and communities who have the same great values as you and are the change makers to usher in a new better more peaceful and fair world.

Thanks for taking the time to explore my little rant. I agree it can be so challenging, I guess I often take it for granted because at my peak I don't let anything stop me, but as I get warn down I tend to forget those principles I hold dear. I'll try to dig deeper I know what I want, sometimes you just have to take a breathe before you keep going up that mountain. Can't take on everything in one go, right?

Congratulations @chekohler! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.787 which ranks you at #4836 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 4833).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 213 contributions, your post is ranked at #110.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84