Rustin Junior Prom 2019, A Recount by a Participant

in #life5 years ago

Hello everyone! Yesterday, the 2019 Junior prom occurred at Rustin high school. In this article, I am going to recount my whole prom experience from beginning to end.

2019 Junior Prom Recount

Pre-Prom (Part 1, Picking Up My Date)

So, almost immediately, I was off of the schedule which I designed. I was supposed to pick TT up at 4:15, and we wound up getting there around 4:30 (because I forgot to account for how far away she lived). Anyway, I got there around 4:30. I was immediately awestruck by how beautiful she looked! I did not say that enough in the moment, but it was truly what I was thinking as well as what anyone else would have been thinking in my position. I handed her the flowers, and her host mom suggested we get a few pictures, so I went back to the car to get my parents. Here is one of the pictures we got:

Pre-Prom (Part 2, Hannah's House)

We then went to my friend Hannah's house in order to take pictures with some of our friends. Everyone looked fantastic! Everything about prom really exceeded my original expectations. Anyway, we got a ton of pictures with our friends, I will upload a few highlights:

First up, here is a picture of all of us:
Group Photo at Hannah's House.jpg

We then took separate Girl group and Guy group pictures:
Girls Only at Hannah's.jpg
Guy 5.jpg

Here's a picture I took with our host, Hannah:

Pre-Prom (Part 3, Oakbourne Park)

We then visited Oakbourne park where a large portion of the grade would be in order to take pictures with one another. Yet again, everybody looked phenomenal! TT and I walked around looking for our friends to get pictures with. I took photos of her with her friends, and she took photos of me with mine, here are some of the pictures I got with my friends:






Prom (the Dance)

The first thing I will say is that I really came out of my shell for this dance. I have never danced as much as I did last night. I told people last night that even if Beethoven was playing, I would not enjoy myself dancing. Dancing isn't something which I naturally view fondly. However, I still decided to dance last night. My dancing was horrible; I wouldn't be surprised if I wind up in a viral video demonstrating cringy dancing, but I still had a good time with my date and my friends which I think is the overall point of prom.

Last night's theme was Spotlight Cities. It used a variety of decorations reflecting the ideas associated most with certain world famous cities (for example, the boy's bathroom was Las Vegas and was gambling themed). Here's a picture I got of the entrance sign:

Here are some pictures I got with my friends at the photo booth:




Post Prom

After prom, we went to Bridget's house and hung around telling stories and playing games until 11. One of the funnier things that happened here was a continuation of regional chorus where our friend Ryan (el Tenoré) chugged a jar of spicy juice. Last night, I did the same:

At 11, TT and I went to her friend's boyfriend's house for his get together. At this get together, the guys mainly played table tennis and pool while the girls played some game themed on cards and spoons. However, we did eventually mix for a game of pool. After that (around 1am), I went home and to bed.

Letter

Thank you to everyone for making last night so special!

To my date: TT, I could not have asked for a better night than last night! You looked fantastic (even though you often said that you didn't think you did)! I am thankful for the time that we have spent together (mainly playing chess), and look forward to the next few months (of mainly playing chess)! Thank you for going to prom with me, and thank you for putting up with my crappy dancing and chess obsession!

To my friends: Thank you also for forcing me to dance last night! Without you, I would have stood around thinking about how much I hated the music for several hours until I would wind up full-on sprinting out of the room the second the doors opened to let people out (very much like a bullet leaving a gun).

To the volunteers who set up the dance: Thank you for working so hard to make last night so special for so many kids! This dance would not have been anywhere near as special without you!

To my classmates: Thank you for looking so incredible, and acting above the call of duty in regards to behavior last night! I am proud to be a part of this generation (except for its crappy taste in music, I will never be proud of that).

Conclusion

Thanks for reading this (if you did)! I know that prom is one of those things that is special to everyone who goes, and a nuisance to everyone who has to read the after posts. I hope you all enjoyed my recount! If you wish to hear a piece of music which I wrote specifically for prom, you can find my promposal article right here. Hopefully, I will see you in future articles!

Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, As well as my composer birthday posts (Note) In order to encourage meaningful feedback on the platform, I will check comment trails of users who leave superficial comments (ie "Awesome post," or "Upvoted.") and will mute any users who exhibit a pattern of leaving "spammy" comments.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 205 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @cmp2020! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 39000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72