IF I KNEW THEN WHAT I KNOW NOW...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

I would have taken more chances in getting to know people, especially girls. I used to be painfully shy. Being the chubby kid, I was always self-conscious about my appearance, so I would psyche myself out of would-be conversations. When I was 16, I met Miss America and she said something I’ll never forget. She said, “People say I’m beautiful, but I have the insecurities, issues, and problems like everyone else on earth.

54915711-6AFD-40CF-B5BC-86AD400DC46F.jpeg

My mother followed that by saying, “Talking with girls is not always about how you look, but it is more about make her feel special, or normal or valuable or comfortable.”

E9AFCB6A-14C5-4F67-8D6E-0BE394E27076.png

As a 16 year old, that conversation didn’t really sink in until I was much older. I guess in high school, looks are extremely important to GIRLS. As I got older and started meeting WOMEN, I found what Debbye said to be absolutely true. I went to a 10-year high school reunion. There a couple of women there who, after talking for a while, admitted that they had crushes on me. I had no idea. I asked why they never said anything. Their answer, insecurities and issues kept them scared.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21