Hey Y'all! Drop in and say howdy!

in #life6 years ago

This post is an experiment, do not be alarmed. I want to test and see what sort of engagement I can get on a post. Normally I post photos (it almost seems obligatory at this point) for contests and to illustrate my ramblings about my adventures and I get some comments and engagement. There's a few repeat offenders (I'm looking at you @sivehead) who I interact with regularly and feel like I've come to know a bit but otherwise much of my interactions have been limited to the "Great photo!" and "Thanks!" variety. I'm not saying I don't appreciate that but part of the appeal of Steemit for me is the variety of people to interact with and I want to do more of that.

I know I can be less than social sometimes, spending hours writing and editing for a post can damp your enthusiasm for further activity for a bit, but I'd like to remedy that. So if I ain't scared you off or bored you to sleep yet, leave me a comment, tell me something about where you're from that I might not know, or simply something you find interesting.

jessegrandcanyon.jpg

(Obligatory Photo) The Colonel took a selfie! I had to do it the old fashioned way with timer and tripod though. Grand Canyon of Yellowstone is in the background.

Speaking of interesting, so far I've came across a few people who tend to post interesting, thought provoking content (@tarazkp, @meno, @glenalbrethsen are the ones that come readily to mind, check them out) but I know there's plenty more that I haven't found yet. Anybody got any recommendations? Much of the interactions I've had here have come about through some of the various curation groups, @photocircle and @photofriend especially but also @photofeed and @monochromes. If you love photography they're a great place to find it, but I know there's got to be others (and not just photography related), I just haven't stumbled onto them yet.

I guess that's probably enough rambling for one post, if you've made it this far you might as well leave a comment just to prove it.

Sort:  

tell me something about where you're from that I might not know

Recently a million pound yacht sailed in to our local docks. For some unknown reason, it was such a big deal that it made the daily news headlines. I almost broke out the ballons to party but honestly though, it's not mine, so who cares?! 😶

The Colonel took a selfie!

Nice tan dude!... you could almost tag that photo with #longexposurephotography. Haha 😜

million pound yacht

It didn't sink like a stone? I wouldn't think something that heavy could float... Haha, don't you just love those "Look what rich/famous person has dropped by" local news stories?

Nice tan

Thanks! Just don't tell my dermatologist, she seems to think everything gives you cancer. Haha, most of my long exposure stuff is way stranger than this! Sometime I'll post a few, I've got photos of my ghost!

Lmao... very whitty my friend!

Haha, don't you just love those "Look what rich/famous person has dropped by" local news stories?

Yeap! It's what I live for man. The only reason I get out of bed in the morning... to see who's coming next! 😋

It's what I live for man. The only reason I get out of bed in the morning... to see who's coming next!

You need to be here for the first Saturday in May then! When the Kentucky Derby rolls into town all the news can talk about for a week is who is in town for it. Well, and what kinds of hats they were wearing...

ehy colonel, how u doing dude?! :) Glad to read your experimental post and BTW... Great photo! Thanks! ahhahah :)))

I'm doing well, how about yourself? Ha, thanks, I'd gotten bored of the usual and wanted to see what would happen.

Yes, i see 😊👍 hahah Here still learning about how steemit works, so sometimes i try new things too but your way was excellent 😊👏👏

I'm definitely still learning as well. Not sure if excellent is the way I'd describe it but it has been interesting. Now to come up with new experiments!

Hahahah 😊😊😊 sounds great! I'll be tuned! 😂😂😂👍

I definitely agree that the engagement part of this site is one of the most appealing things! I've noticed that engagement tends to ebb and flow proportionally to how valuable Steem is at the time, which is unfortunate. Keep up the good work though!

Thanks, I'll try! I'm here for the long haul so the price of steem don't faze me overly much but during the dips it definitely seems like you're shouting into the abyss. Not the most encouraging but I guess you have to balance out for the good times.

And here was I picturing you as Jethro of NCIS haaa
Good to see u man!

Ha! Not hardly, that'll take a few more decades and maybe some plastic surgery. Thanks!

Thank you for your contribution to the "pc-people" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Can I get it in Morse code?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89