Forced Opinion: Having Your Way. Contributed by @Olawalium

in #life6 years ago

stock-photo-people-museum-performance-arts-talk-gallery-visitors-share-opinion-852ecf35-da9a-4770-bbd4-a4cbca36c992.jpg


Many people try to force their opinion on you. Many try to control your thoughts by infiltrating your mind with theirs. Most of us like to have our ways most of the time, if not all the time. Alas, we cannot always be right.

We all want to be heard. We all want our voice to count for something, we all want to control things, but we should also learn to develop the power to let go of what we cannot change. We can’t always control everything. We should be humble in defeat and learn patience, and that is the only way to grow our character.

We had a football match on Saturday. There is this defender that hates having a decision against him or his team. To put it mildly, he is a bad loser. I hate to lose too, but then, he is the expressive type when things don’t go his way. He always wants to control everything and influence decisions, even that of the referee.


pexels-photo-274422.jpg


My team was trailing 2-0 and he was his calm self since he was with the team that leads with 2 goals. No shout, no argument, nothing.

The true test of a man comes when things go against him. Only then can you know what his character is all about.

One of the strong things I am blessed with is a strong mindset. I always see a positive thing in the midst of everything that happens. When I lost my dad, then later my mum, I could have easily given up on life. I didn’t.

I see their passing away as a blessing for me to develop a stronger mind and character. I believe I have to live up to growing as a man, rather than to use them as an excuse for failing in life. I owe it to myself and not to them. They are gone, and I am still here, so I need to get my act together and be strong.

I cultivated new habits which I wasn’t used to via experiences that life threw at me, and I made them into some sweet lemonade. Hahaha. I was used to being spoiled, now I have learned how to do things right and place priorities, which is one of the many new habits I developed via life’s show off.

So, back to the story. We scored 1 back, and I could feel his blood rising. We scored the second and he was about to explode. He was still warming up by giving little complaints here and there.


people-men-grass-sport.jpg


To be continued...

Thank you for your time.

Source: 1,


My pen doesn’t bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

Olawalium; (Love’s chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor’s order.


If you enjoyed this post, follow @Olawalium

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this wonderful experience of yours on here. I have to start by appreciate you effort in building this great community through your piece. We all have our individual differences in this life and that has been a bone of contention, we all want to be heard which is not always possible in most cases most especially when things goes wrong from our side. I can't blame the person you mentioned in this piece of yours because we all have responsibilities around us.

You are awesome for going through a Memory Lane of talk about your lost parent when they were still alive. I'm sorry for your lost. I believe you have gotten over it by now since you couldn't authoritatively speak from experience.

I decuded from this piece that we all have to be patient someone and let's other people opinion before we come about our own views which we be so good and give us more knowledge on a particular subject matter. Keep the good work flowing man.

Thank you so much. Yes, patience does it and ability to take to instructions helps too. We should be open to learning rather than trying to always force our opinion and views on others. Much appreciated.

Oh! Why now... Lol

I want to see what becomes of this man, I don't want to guess so that I won't spoil the great expectation I have for the coming part already. Lol

Nobody want to loose, that's is a fact, but our level of maturity help us through in handling things when they are not happening the way we want it.

One old man told me something that I hold on to, it is still fresh in my memory.

He said:

"What happened to those that commit suicide at time is very minimal compared to what happened to those that are still living, but we handle things differently. "

Our level of maturity makes the difference.

That statement meant so much to me, ever since then, I have been approaching life with so much care and ease. My worries, angers or fights can't change things, but my maturity can see me through.

Experience has shown that nothing last forever

Sorry about dad and mum again, I'm glad you are very much over it now. I missed the two of them so much.

Can't wait for the next part ooooooooo.

I am so buried already. I wish it did not end yet.

Many people like to be heard. It sometimes may not matter what exactly it is you want to be heard for.

Our opinions propel our decision. This may seemingly look self-centric but in real case it is the principle that guide decision making.

So it begins with the ‘man in the mirror’ to realize that he may also be wrong sometimes and needs to develop the sensitivity so as to observe the other side of the coin.

This is lit!

So it begins with the ‘man in the mirror’ to realize that he may also be wrong sometimes and needs to develop the sensitivity so as to observe the other side of the coin.

Love that. You nailed it there.

Thanks a lot for this. I enjoy reading your comments as well.

You know critics Crawls everywhere, dictators all around us, fault finders as friends. All of these have effect on ones behavior and thinking . There are good critics not doubt, but the world today , people don’t criticize for the positive effect.

The true test of a man comes when things go against him. Only then can you know what his character is all about.

I totally agree with you on this , this is such some wise words .

Freedom is all that’s wanted , freedom is all that is needed

Yes, most people don't even ask questions with the intent of knowing, but with the intent to criticize. That is the world we live in.
Thanks a lot brother.

Ah!!! There's a part 2 ? I really want to see what the young man did at the end... Did he see the positive side of this match after you guys equalized?...
I guess not... When things are start to fall out of place , don't give up or cook up something to cover up the mess or mistake instead look for a solution .
BTW I'm glad you didn't give up when things turned around. You're a strong man and admire you a lot.
Back to the story.... Waiting for part 2 o

I believe I have to live up to growing as a man, rather than to use them as an excuse for failing in life

People should realise that you are your own responsibility first, and one can only be either the result of responsibilities or a result of excuses.

He was still warming up by giving little complaints here and there.

Just make sure you dont score the last goal before he will pursue you out of the field

Hahahahahahaha. You will see what he did after the match.

Yes, we are our own responsibility. If we fail, if we win, it's our resporesponsibility but most people would rather pass the buck of the blame.

Thanks a lot bro.

I look forward to what he does next, thanks for the interesting post

I am happy to hear this. Thanks a lot.

@olawaliun, your experience indeed make you stronger. Instead of looking for excuses here and there, we should all brace up and face the challenges.

Nice write up. I hope they did not score another goal against that player's team. Can't wait to know how the story ends

Hahahaha I will share what happened before the end of the match soon.

Yes, our experiences make us stronger and being open to correction and instructions make things easier for us sometimes. What most of us do is give excuses why we failed, rather than taking to instructions to avoid it or learn from it.

Thanks bro

Free man does not like to lose
I am a man who hates loss. I love winning forever
But the referee's decisions should not affect the team
Really great article done well

Thank you so much. Always appreciate your comment.

Everything happens for a reason @olawalium and i belive destiny plays an important role in getting things happening. You cant force your choice and decision on others...you can only guide and suggest the corrsct way....thereby you cant force.

Exactly, you can only guide and suggest It, and it is left for others to either accept or reject it. Thanks a lot for that. Duly appreciated.

Yes we all want to heard and it's fine but the complain can't make any changes, best thing is to find solutions or way out of the problem

You are right there are people who want their words to be always heed but what they don't know is that we can't always be right .

If I were at the training ground and play again that aggressive guy, I would still move ball close to him and dribble him.

Hahaha you want to stir up conflict. I am sure he would react badly or even kick you.

You are right, we can't always be right, hence the need to learn and be open to instructions.

Rather than give excuses for failing, we can always find solutions to stop the fall.

Thanks a lot.

Then he will be sent out of the field if the training coordinators have discipline and that's how he would do at important Games

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16